Skip to main content

ENC 1101 - Daniels: Annotated Bibliography

Library Resource Guide for students in ENC 1101 with Professor Daniels at the Brandon Campus.

Your research will likely require you to use a variety of sources. For this assignment you will locate a newspaper article, a scholarly journal article, a chapter from a print or e-book, and any additional source from the library.

The sources below will be helpful for locating all of the needed information for this assignment. You might use all of the sources or might have great luck with just one or two of them! 

As you research, remember to reach out to your campus librarians for assistance. 

Search for books & more

Find Books, Articles, Media, & more:

Library Research

For this assignment you will be conducting research using the library resources. All library resources are found by visiting the library website. Easiest access is from within your class in Canvas. 

Canvas page highlighting the library access link

How do I find books at the library?

Now that you are at the library page - you can easily search for items by entering key words in the Search box. Please note that articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines are usually easier to find and identify if you use the library databases. Links to the databases are on the left navigation area of this page.

Instructions and tips are available in these videos:  Full Searching Tutorial (10:02)    Searching for Books only (3:33); Searching for eBooks only (2:24); Searching only databases (3:15)

Library catalog search results

How do I find magazine, journal, or newspaper articles from the library? 

Now that you are at the library page - you can easily locate magazine, journal, or newspaper articles by utilizing the library databases. The recommended databases for your annotated bibliography are linked in the left navigation area of this page. 

The databases will allow you to search by key word for your topic. You can also add in information to refine your search before you see results OR after you see your results screen. 

Watch this video to see a demonstration of a database search (3:15).