Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Management Tools
Thanks for information from https://subr.libguides.com/c.php?g=202884&p=1347701 and other library guides.
Ilene Frank August 2021
Citation Management Tools download
This is an attempt to list some of citation management tools that students come across with no endorsement implied! Always be prepared to double-check the results of any bibliographic citation generator including the built-in citations created via the library catalog and the library databases. – Ilene Frank
Bibme is a citation generator developed at Carnegie Mellon University and is now part of Chegg services. As of August 2021, Bibme uses APA 6th edition, MLA 8th edition, Chicago 17th edition. Bibme also has a Create a Title Page
in different styles.
Create a free account and your citations can be saved and accessed from any computer; Supports APA, MLA and Chicago styles; Create and save multiple bibliographies; Automatic lookup of journals, books and webpages; Copy & paste or export citations to MS Word; Also includes in-text citation generator with guide. Created and maintained by Alan Cole. As of August 2021: APA 7th edition and MLA 8th edition and Chicago 16th edition.
Citation Builder (NCSU Libraries)
Select the type of publication (“Choose what you want to cite”) and select citation style. As of August 2021, Citation Builder uses APA 6th edition, MLA 7th and 8th edition, Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition and Council of Science Editors.
Citation Machine (Chegg)
Citation Machine is a free site that automatically produces MLA, APA, Turabian or Chicago Style Citations for a variety of sources (but not bibliographies). Users can copy and paste citations into Microsoft Word. Citation Machine is developed by David Warlick, an educator.
EasyBib provides some free service with upselling for plagiarism checking, grammar checking, etc – i.e. additional services for a fee. See terms and conditions
. Use Create a Title Page
to create a title page for your research paper. This cite will format MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian.
KnightCite is a free site that automatically produces MLA, APA, and Chicago style citations for 25 different sources. Developed at the Heckman Library at Calvin College. As of August 2021, KnightCite uses MLA 8, APA 6th, Chicago 17th styles.
A free reference manager and academic social network. Users can automatically generate bibliographies, and collaborate with other researchers online. Mendeley allows you to manage, share, read, annotate and cite papers. Provides 2 GB of free storage with a premium package for more storage. Designed for complex, long-term projects.
Just need one or two quick citations? No account/login required -- simply copy & paste generated citations into your Word document. Supports APA, MLA and Chicago styles. Note: citations are not saved and cannot be exported to a word processor using this version of the tool. There is a fee-based service that provides additional functionality. There is no in-text citation functionality.
Individuals can try PowerNotes for free for one project with a $49 annual fee. Provides the ability to gather, track and manage notes, quotes, images, etc. – i.e. this is more than a citation generator. Tutorials are available.
ZoteroBIB is a free service that helps create a bibliography in any citation style. Good for creating short lists of references. Zotero
, the more advanced service for long-term projects, provides the ability to save and synchronize data across devices, but you will need to download and run the program on your computer. IMPORTANT NOTE: Use one of the following browsers: Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Mozilla Firefox, or Safari.