Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CGS 1555: Information Resources on the Web

There are many different kinds of resources available to you on the Web. Open Website sources are those that anyone can access, usually you find these by using a search engine such as Google or Bing. Restricted Website sources are those websites that you might use that require a login or subscription (within these you can find general information, scholarly information, and news articles). News Website sources are those that you would use to get information about current topics that are happening now. Scholarly Website sources are those sources that you would use to find information from books and articles about events that have happened and analyzes them; this includes information that's been written and researched thoroughly by experts, double-checked, and reviewed by other experts.

Information Timeline

Timeline of information creation after a newsworthy event

 

When a newsworthy event occurs information is created and shared by different groups at different times with different levels of accuracy, authority, and scholarship.

The Same Day information about the event will be shared on social media, television news programs, and news websites. You might find information about the event almost immediately on sources such as Facebook, Twitter, CNN, Baynews9, or WFLA. The information from these sources may be from eyewitnesses or reporters.

The Week of the Event information about the event will be shared in print newspapers such as the Tampa Bay Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today. These articles are usually written by journalists.

The Month of the Event information about the vent will be shared in print magazines such as Time, Newsweek, and People Magazine. These articles are usually written by journalists.

Months after the Event information about the event, usually that analyzes the event, from a research and scholarly perspective will be shared in academic and scholarly journals. These articles are usually written by scholars or researchers.

A Year or More after the Event information about the event will be found in books, government reports, and encyclopedias. Often these sources will provide a very deep analysis of the event.

 

Open Website Source

Search engines are used to search for many different kinds of information, images, videos, and other content online. Some results will be freely available, while others will require a fee or subscription. Results will vary in quality, authority, and reliability.

Restricted Websites - HCC Library

Restricted websites are those that are used to conduct research. They are not the same as entertainment websites, such as Hulu and Netflix.

The library has over 120 databases. These are a kind of restricted website because the information within them is restricted to those that pay for access. Most academic libraries have a wide variety of these kinds of sources! Take a look at the databases below. They are broken up into topical categories.

General Information (they have a little of everything!)

 

Newspaper databases typically have only information from newspapers. Information in newspapers is printed at or very near to the time of an event. News databases differ from news websites because the databases allow you to access and read the complete articles from a news source. *News websites will often allow you limited number of free articles, then will require you to pay for access.

Logging in to the library

Hillsborough Community College has switched to a new library catalog, PRIMO.  You can log on through CANVAS and go to the HCC Libraries via the toolbar on the left side of the screen in one of your courses. Click HCC Libraries Online in the center of the next screen. 

If you are prompted to log in to any of the library resources, look for SSO (single sign on). Then put in your NetID username and password - just like logging on to CANVAS. Remember to include hawkmail.hccfl.edu 

Need help with your NetID?  Register your NetID, reset your NetID password, etc. start at https://netid.hccfl.edu   

Need more assistance? Go to  hcclive.hccfl.edu  or call the Help Desk at 913-253-7000 

Tip:  If you are using your default password, change it as soon as possible. 

News Website Sources

News sources provide information about events that are happening now (i.e. Breaking News). They are the best resource to use to find current information about current events.

*These sources may require a subscription to read full articles. The HCC Libraries provide access via our databases and print newspaper subscriptions.

Scholarly Website Sources

Google Scholar (tips for Google Scholar are below)

Tips for Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: Access may be limited.

Google Scholar Search Tips (includes how to locate the full text of an article)

If you're off-campus, Set up Google Scholar on your computer to allow access to resources available through HCC Libraries.

Pro Tip:  Access Google Scholar through HCC Libraries databases; no need to adjust your computer's settings to show results in HCC Libraries: