Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENC 1101 Library Research Assignment
Tips for your Library Research Assignment:
- When needing to find books use the HCC Libraries Online Catalog, which used to be called LINCCWeb. Start your search in the Search HCC Libraries box below.
- The catalog allows you to search for books at Brandon, at all of HCC, and at all Florida higher education institutions. For detailed instructions on how to use HCC Libraries Online Catalog, go to the Library Catalog Search page in this Guide.
If you need librarian assistance with this assignment, please feel free to contact the Brandon campus library. See the Using this Guide page for contact information.
Search HCC Libraries with Primo
Find books, articles, videos, & more
1. Locate and cite a single biography of a former U.S President.
Use the HCC library catalog to answer this question and to search for your subject term. Open the Advanced Search page.
Example: To locate a book about the George Washington, change the first pull down menu from Books and Articles to Books and More. Type the search words "George Washington" in the keyword box. Under the Narrow Results By column on the left, choose Books in the Library.
To cite a book source with one author, use the following MLA 8th Edition Format:
Author. Title. Publisher, Year of Publication.
Johnson, Paul. George Washington: The Founding Father. Atlas Books, 2005.
2. Using the Oxford English Dictionary (OED), locate the definition and etymology of the terms “style” and “culture”.
The OED is available from the library as a database. You can access OED by clicking on the link below (it may prompt you to log in with your student ID number and pin [last four digits of your student ID number]). Once you have opened OED, type your word in the search box and click Go. Your results list should appear. Click on "Full Entry" to look at the complete entry for your word.
3. Using the electronic Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH), locate the necessary training and education for two professions of your choice; include earnings, anticipated job prospects, and working conditions.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is published by the U.S. Department of Labor and is available as either a print source in the HCC Plant City Library or online through the U.S. Department of Labor website. Below find links to the HCC Library Catalog record and to the online version.
Occupational Outlook Handbook 2016-2017 by
Call Number: HD 8051 .A62
Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Available at the HCC Plant City campus library.
4. Using LSDL, locate an article on “academic writing” and provide a citation.
The LSDL is the LibGuide for Distance Learning students. Use the page called Find Articles for this question. Follow these steps to help answer this question:
- Open up the Databases LibGuide
- Choose Academic OneFile
- This opens the Advanced Search page for this database
- Type in your search term "academic writing" in the first keyword search box
- Check mark the box next to Full Text Documents under More Options
- Choose Search
Choose any article listed in the results by clicking on the article title. To cite using MLA 8th Edition format, please use the resources found on the MLA Citation Guide of this LibGuide.
5. Using Google Book Search, find a book on the subject of "investing wisely" and provide a citation.
Use the Learning Resources for Distance Learning LibGuide to help answer this question. Google Book Search can be found on the Find eBooks (and Books) page of this LibGuide. Type in your search term and after your results populate, click on a book title to view the ebook. Follow these steps to provide a citation:
- Open the MLA Citation Guide page of this LibGuide
- In the Suggested Resources for Using MLA Style, open the link called MLA Style for Electronic Sources (written by Valencia College)
- Open the tab called Electronic Sources
- Choose Book Viewed on the Web
- Explains how to cite a book from Google Books
- To find the permalink, click on the Link icon in the header above the book in Google Books
Question 6 & 7
Use the HCC library catalog to answer this question and to search for your subject term. Open the Advanced Search page. Or, you can use the Plant City Library Search box below. Enter your term in this box, click to search and the HCC Libraries Online Catalog page will open.
See the Library Catalog Search page for help using the HCC Library Catalog. If you want to locate resources available in a particular HCC campus library, use the options under Narrow Results By: Library/Collection.
8. Using the keyword "economic stimulus" and searching "all community colleges", cite two of the most relevant search result(s).
The HCC Libraries Online Catalog has a new web interface. In order to search "all community colleges" now, follow these steps:
- Open the HCC Libraries Home Page
- In the Top Header, choose Search Florida Libraries
- A new webpage opens up with the Header of Search Florida Libraries UBORROW
- Under the Search Bar, choose the Plus symbol at the line that states: Optional - limit search to selected libraries
- Check the box next to Select by State College
- Type in your Keyword Search Term of "economic stimulus" and choose Search to see the results