Online Library Resources for History - American History - Plant City - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

What is an Online Library Database?

Online Library Databases

Online library databases are searching platforms that allow users to locate resources from many different types of sources. Some of those sources will be:

Academic journal articles
Newspaper articles
Magazine articles
Streaming Videos
Images
e-Books

This LibGuide page is designed to introduce you to how to use a library database in order to find the most effective resources for your academic needs.

What are Library Databases?

The video below is by Yavapai College and explains the benefits of using library databases.

Article Databases for History

The databases listed below are great resources to search for professional history journals, history related magazine and newspaper articles.

Primary Source Documents

These databases listed below are great resources to search and find primary source documents.

Black Freedom Struggle (ProQuest)
Defining Moments in U.S. History (Lincoln Library)
Primary source documents available such as: Articles of Confederation, letters from prominent people from this time period, The U.S. Constitution, The Bill of Rights.
History Reference Center (EBSCO)
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest)
Sources in U.S. History Online: Civil War (Gale)
A collection of Civil War-era personal narratives, essays, sermons, political speeches, and other primary sources. Funding source: State Library of Florida.
Search tips
1. On the homepage are an overview and reference essays for different aspects of
  the Civil War.
2. Once you select a topic, you will find sections, each ending with a
  thorough bibliography of primary sources you can view and use as sources.
3. Or, use the Search bar to search within the collection.
4. Or, click View all documents in this collection.
5. You can narrow down results by person, author, publication date, and more
Try using the Topic Finder. You can search for one event, person, aspect of the war, and more, then narrow down your topic. Results will be shown on the right.
U.S. History (Gale in Context)

American History - Plant City: Online Library Resources for History

What is an Online Library Database?

Online Library Databases

What are Library Databases?

Article Databases for History

Primary Source Documents

Search tips