Skip to Main Content

History

Browse our best resources, organized by subject

Showing 21 Databases

Additional Databases
Black Freedom Struggle (ProQuest)

Primary source collections: American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight, and Alexander Street’s Black Thought and Culture. Free resource. Find a tutorial.

Black Life in America (Newsbank)

Primary source collection focusing on African American history, culture, and daily life. Funded by FLVC for FCS. Find a tutorial.

Defining Moments in U.S. History (Lincoln Library)

Historical context of 30 defining moments in United States history. Includes primary source documents, timelines, biographies, reading lists, glossaries, and photographs. Funded by HCC. Tutorial provided.

European Views of the Americas (EBSCO)

Comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers European exploration, Native American peoples, and subjects ranging from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. Funding source: Free resource

.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library (UF)

The Florida Digital Newspaper Library exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida from historic and current Florida newspapers. Funding Source: Other, free.

Florida Memory - State Library & Archives of Florida
Florida Memory is a digital outreach program providing free online access to select archival resources from collections housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida. Florida Memory digitizes materials that illuminate the state's history and culture. Funding source: State Library of Florida.
Global Road Warrior (World Trade Press)
Extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. Funding source: FLVC group license. Tutorial provided.
Hispanic Life in America (NewsBank)
Primary sources documenting the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, from 1704 to today. Funding source: FLVC for FCS. Tutorial provided.
History Vault: Slavery (ProQuest)
Digitized collection of primary source materials documenting the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the U.S. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Find a tutorial.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Scholarly sources relating to the humanities, such as culture, language, art, music, theatre, literature, philosophy, and more. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Find a tutorial.
Featured
JSTOR
Includes academic journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes the Artstor image collection. Funding source: Statewide allocation (JSTOR), Group License (Artstor). Funded by FLVC group license. Find a tutorial.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest)
Articles from The New York Times dating from 1851 to 2019. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Find a tutorial.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press)
More than 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference from Oxford University Press. Click Subject to access volumes under each category. Click Reference Type to select subject reference, dictionaries, timelines, and more. Funding source: FLVC group license. Tutorial provided.
Sources in U.S. History Online: Civil War (Gale)
A collection of Civil War-era personal narratives, essays, sermons, political speeches, and other primary sources. Funding source: State Library of Florida.
Springer EJournal Collection
Journals and documents in various discipline, including many science fields. Funding source: Statewide allocation.
more...
Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press)

eBooks authored by scholars in their fields, combining facts, analysis, and new ideas for readable introductions to challenging topics. Broad subjects areas include: Arts and Humanities, Science and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Law, Medicine, Health and more. Funded by: FLVC group license.

more...

No blog posts have been assigned to this subject.

Search

Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.

History Experts

No experts have been assigned to this subject.
title
Loading...