LibGuides: Welcome to the Ybor City Library: Books & More

HCC Libraries Search

Finding Physical Books, DVDs, etc. in the Library

HCC Libraries Catalog search (above), is a one-stop search portal which can lead you to many materials. It is a big database of books in the libraries, as well as online sources such as eBooks, articles, videos, and more!

When you've found a physical book by using the Library Catalog search - to locate it on the shelf in the library, you'll need to know the following:

The Title
The Call Number
The Location (Circulation, Reference, etc.)
The Availability (available, checked out, etc.)

Note:

Books, DVDs and other materials that can be checked out are located in the Circulation room (north side of the library).
You'll need your HawkCard to check out library materials.
Reference books (for in-library use only), such as encyclopedias, are in the Reference room (south side of the library).

Call number on a book

Library of Congress subject headings
Library of Congress Classification is a system first developed in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to organize and arrange the book collections in the Library of Congress. It is now used in academic libraries worldwide.

eBook Databases

While eBooks (online books) may come up in a general search of the Library Catalog, you can also search individual eBook databases to find online books that precisely match your topical search terms. In addition, you can browse by subject, as well as search within a subject.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Platform of eBooks and audiobooks. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines. Funded by HCC and statewide allocation.
ABC-CLIO eBooks
Searchable reference, academic and general interest e-books. Funded by HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Gale Ebooks
Searchable database of more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject areas, including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. Funding source: HCC and Statewide
Infobase eBooks (Infobase Publishing)
Reference and nonfiction eBooks that cover a wide variety of core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, careers, geography, health, careers and more. Funding source: HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press)
More than 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference from Oxford University Press. Click Subject to access volumes under each category. Click Reference Type to select subject reference, dictionaries, timelines, and more. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Salem Online (Salem Press)
Online reference materials across a wide spectrum of subjects. Funding source: HCC Here is a tutorial.

See our full listing of databases that contain eBooks.

Welcome to the Ybor City Library: Books & More

HCC Libraries Search

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Finding Physical Books, DVDs, etc. in the Library

eBook Databases