Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Databases

Guide created for students in the HCC Nursing Program

About Library Databases

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles?

Many sources you will find when conducting college-level library research are scholarly articles, often called "peer-reviewed," or "academic."

The tutorials below explain the typical appearance, structure, and function of scholarly articles.

Nursing/Health Related Databases

Reference Databases

Reference Databases provide definition, background information and related information on any given topic.  Reference Databases can be used as a starting point in academic research.

Article Databases

The databases listed below provide access to peer-reviewed, scholarly academic journal articles for nursing and other medical, health science related topics.  

Evidence-Based Care Sheets

Evidence-Based Care Sheets (EBCS) are available through the database called CINAHL Complete.  Per the database vendor, EBSCO, the EBCS are "summaries on specific key topics, which are focus on nursing practice".  Below are links to sample EBCS found in the CINAHL Complete database.

Complete Listing

For a complete listing of the Evidence-Based Care Sheets topics, please open the PDF file attached here.

Quick Lessons

Quick Lesson Sheets are available through the database called CINAHL Complete.  Per the database vendor, EBSCO, the Quick Lesson Sheets are "clinically organized nursing overviews, with information mapped to the nursing workflow".  Below are links to sample Quick Lessons found in the CINAHL Complete database.

Complete Listing

For a complete listing of the Quick Lesson Sheets topics, please open the PDF file attached here.

Streaming Videos

Streaming video databases can be used as supplemental to article databases providing more of a visual lesson.