Literary Research - ENC 1101 & 1102 - Ronson - Freshman English I & II (Ybor City) - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Use These Online Reference eBooks for Literary Research

Novels for Students (eBook)

These eBooks will provide you with historical background, author information, critical analyses, and much more about many novels and short stories. Log-in required. Read the instructions and tips next to each book image before you log in!

Short Stories for Students (eBook)

How to use this eBook.
After you log in, type the title of your work in the search box on the right, directly below the word, Tools. Looks like this. Be sure you type the title correctly! If the title is one word, add the author's last name. If your short story is covered in this reference, an article about it will likely appear at the top of your search results.

If You Have Time to Come to the Library

If you're not finding what you need when using the online resources linked on this page...

...or if you would prefer to to use hard-copy (physical) books...

...there are many other research materials located in the library.

If you have time, come visit us on the 2nd Floor of the YLRC Building. If you want research help, it's best to make an appointment with a librarian. Click the Get Help! tab to contact us. We can help you in-person, online, or on the phone.

Literary Criticism Databases

These library databases will lead you to critical and overview articles about novels, short stories, plays, poems, and other works of literature; literary topics; author information; full text of many works; and more. Click a link below and log in.

Literature (Gale)
Detailed information about authors' lives and works, full-text critical essays and reviews, overviews of frequently studied works, and full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from scholarly journals and literary magazines.
- In Name of Work, type the title of the story, poem, etc.
- In Person By or About, type the last name of the author.
- *Optional* - You may type a keyword to further specify a theme or topic you are exploring.
Click Search.
First items will be literary criticism articles arranged by relevance.
You can click to View All.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
Detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
- In the first search box type the title of the literary work inside quotation marks, followed by the author's last name. Example: "The Story of an Hour" Chopin.
- Check the "Full text" box.
- Under "Document Type" select "Literary Criticism."
- Click "Search."
Bloom's Literature (Infobase Publishing)
Salem Online (Salem Press)
LitFinder (Gale)
Full text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
JSTOR
Back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Gale Literature Criticism
Provides full-text literature criticism from Drama, Short Story, Poetry, Nineteenth Century, Twentieth Century, and Contemporary Literary Criticism. Funding source: HCC perpetual license

Other Helpful Databases

These databases will lead you to articles about literary themes, social issues, and most any topic in general.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary sources, website links, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on a vast range of social issues and current topics. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.

Things to Keep in Mind as You Do Your Research

Start early.

√ Work from the general to the specific.

√ Keep a record of each item you find, even if you don't know whether you will use it.

√ Stay organized to save time and frustration.

Image: Phillip Martin

ENC 1101 & 1102 - Ronson - Freshman English I & II (Ybor City): Literary Research

Use These Online Reference eBooks for Literary Research

If You Have Time to Come to the Library

Literary Criticism Databases

Other Helpful Databases

Things to Keep in Mind as You Do Your Research