LibGuides: Arts & Humanities Resources (Ybor City): HUM 2230--Western Humanities II

About This Page

Welcome to your Library resource page for Western Humanities II.

Refer to the tab at the top, Books, eBooks & More, to start your research.

This page highlights resources that are especially helpful for your research in Western Humanities II.

Online Article Databases

The library has many different databases, some are multidisciplinary and some are subject specific (e.g., just covering literature or nursing). Below is a curated list of the databases most appropriate for conducting humanities research.

Some databases are entirely scholarly content while others are a mix of scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines.

Look for the "Scholarly/Peer Review" box to limit your results to just those types of articles, if required by your instructor.

JSTOR
Back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Scholarly sources relating to the humanities, such as culture, language, art, music, theatre, literature, philosophy, and more. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Sage Journals
Scholarly Journal database. In Advanced Search under Search Within choose Select from a list of disciplines and check history.
Search tips
From the homepage, try or more of the following methods
:
1. Use the search bar for a title, keyword, author, or subject.
2. Or, use the link, Browse Journals by Discipline, narrowing down the discipline and subject for a list of journals.
3. Or, click Explore Discipline Hubs
  to find a specific discipline and all materials that fall under it.
Discipline pages include Search Within Discipline Journals; sub-topic journals;open access journals; books, videos, and podcasts; and more.
History Reference Center (EBSCO)
Magazine articles, e-books, primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps, historical film and video, and more, covering U.S. and World history. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
U.S. History (Gale in Context)
Content from periodicals, reference works, and primary source documents relating to U.S. history, organized into a portal for easy research. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Grove Art Online (Oxford University Press)
Online access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes, covering all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Funding source: FLVC group license.
Biography (Gale in Context)
Biographical reference database covering people in literature, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, and the arts - throughout all historical periods - up through the current day.

Current Issues in Society Databases

These databases will lead you to material about controversies in our world today.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary sources, website links, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on a vast range of social issues and current topics. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing)
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.

Humanities Reference: Spanning the Ages.

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: REF CB361 .E52 1999
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
Call Number: REF GT31 .G74 2004
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History (eBook)
Call Number: REF D23 .B45 2005
Alphabetically arranged entries explore the significant events, figures, and themes in world history. After logging in, scroll down to view the table of contents. Also try the "Book Index"
...as well as the Search box, (located on the right, under "Tools").
Europe, 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World (eBook)
American Decades (ebook, 1900-1999)
Call Number: (REF E169.12 .A419
American Decades (ebook, 2000-2009) by Carol Nagel (Editor)
Call Number: REF E169.12 .A419 2011
ISBN: 9781414436067

Art & Music

Grove Dictionary of Art by Jane Turner
Call Number: REF N31 .D5
ISBN: 0195170687
Also available online - see Databases: "Oxford Art Online".
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Call Number: REF ML100 .N48
Publication Date: 2004-01-29
This is a big (29 volumes) set of books. The Index - at the back of Vol. 29 - will help you find the volumes and pages that discuss your topic (and related topics).

Philosophy & Religion

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: REF B51 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: REF BL31 .E46 2005
Also available online as an eBook -see below ↓.
Encyclopedia of Religion--eBook
The Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy (ebook)

History on the Web

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Three main sections: ancient, medieval, and modern, as well as subsections. The sourcebooks are collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. From Fordham University.
Timeline Archive (InfoPlease)
Historical timelines for world history, history by country, topic, etc. From Pearson Education (publisher of instructional materials for schools, colleges and corporations), publishing as InfoPlease.

Arts & Humanities Resources (Ybor City): HUM 2230--Western Humanities II