Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zoology (Plant City): Databases - Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Guide for students in Zoology at the Plant City Campus

Library Tips Handout

The PDF file above is an electronic copy of the Zoology Research Guide sheet provided at Zoology library orientation/instruction with Dr. Colter.

Evaluating Online Resources

Evaluating Online Resources

It is very important to have a critical eye when searching for information found online that will be used for academic purposes.  There is an evaluation criteria that can be followed in order to assist in this process.  

Apply the C.R.A.A.P. Test.  See the attached sheet for more details on how to apply this test.

Currency:  Is this information current for the topic?

Reliability: Is this information presented with references, notes?  What kind of resources does the author use?

Authority:  Who is writing or presenting this information?  What is their expertise on this topic?

Accuracy:  How reliable is this information?

Purpose/Point of View:  Why was this information produced?  Who benefits or needs this information?

For more information on how to use and apply the C.R.A.A.P. Test please see this sheet produced by Meriam Library at California State Uniersity, Chico:  C.R.A.A.P. Test - Evaluation Criteria.

Library Database Access and Use

How do I find a magazine, journal or newspaper article?

In order to locate magazine, journal or newspaper articles you will need to search one of the library databases. The databases are arranged in two different ways:

Databases in Alphabetical Order by Name: 

Choose this if you know the name of the database you would like to use.  For example purposes:  Choose Academic OneFile. This is the database discussed during many library orientations. 

HINT:  To start with until you become more familiar with electronic databases, use databases that have (Gale) or EBSCO after the database name - very user-friendly.

  1. Type in a search term under the Advanced Search section.  Notice the drop down search assist box.  If you click on a 2 or 3 word phrase in this drop down menu, quotation marks are placed around the words making the phrase your search term.
  2. Check Full Text and then Search.
  3.  After your results populate, narrow Search Parameters by utilizing the Format, Publication Date, Subject, Document Type, etc. options in the right or left column. 

Databases Grouped Together by Subject Area:

Choose this if you know what subject you would like to research. You will see a list of broad subject areas. When you click on one, you will see the databases recommended for that subject.

For this example, use the Subject pull down menu at the top header row > choose Sciences > Biological & Agricultural Index Plus.  See below for search term tips:

  1. Type animal AND extinction in the Search box

  2. Check mark the box for Linked Full Text and the box for PDF Full Text

  3. Search

  4. Use the Facets on the left to narrow results.

To view a complete article, choose either the PDF Full Text or Full Text Finder option in the article record.

See the box in the right column for the best databases to start with when searching for magazine, newspaper and journal articles in the field of zoology.

What is the borrower ID and password?

Your borrower ID is your 7-digit student ID number. The password should be the last 4 digits of your student ID number. Please see the "Logging into HCC Libraries" page for more log-in instructions.  If you are experiencing problems logging into the databases, please contact the library and we will do our best to assist you.

Good Databases to Use in Zoology

Tips for searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Search for scholarly literature across many subject areas and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Google Scholar Search Tips 

If you're off-campus, Set up Google Scholar on your computer to allow access to HCC Libraries resources.