Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CRW 1001 Creative Writing I - Freeman (Plant City): What resources do I use for this class?

Search HCC Libraries with Primo

Find books, articles, videos, & more

  Sign in first for best results!

Literature Criticism

Literature Criticism

When you need to find out what experts think about a literature work, you will look for literature (or literary) criticism.  Criticisms can be found as books, articles in journals, articles in books, and more.  In the boxes below you will find instructions for locating criticism in these sources. 

Books and Ebooks

Using the Library Catalog

Use the Library Catalog keyword search term box above to locate books and eBooks in the HCC Plant City Library. 

Example Search:

To locate items in the library that are by or about Kate Chopin, type her name in the search box of the library catalog and choose Search.

Screenshot of library catalog keyword search term box with "Kate Chopin" typed in.

 

Use the Filter Your Results column to help narrow your search results.  To locate the resource, open the catalog record by choosing the title of the resource.  The full catalog record will provide access points to printed versions available in the library or to the online version through a library database or authoritative Internet site.  Any questions or issues, please do not hesitate to contact a librarian.

Databases -- Available Online

Where to find Literature Criticisms

When looking in journal or magazine articles for literature criticism - it is best to start in a Database.  The library subscribes to several databases that will be helpful to find Literature Criticism sources.  Hover over the database titles below for a description. The Library Databases allow you to find articles, videos, and many other types of resources that might be useful for completing your research.  

You will need to be logged into HCC Libraries Online in order to access the following databases.  Please see the Trouble Logging In? page for instructions.

If you have trouble logging into the databases, please contact us at the HCC Plant City Library.

Tip Sheets

Tipsheets for using the databases suggested in this guide.