Online library databases are searching platforms that allow users to locate resources from many different types of sources. Some of those sources will be:
This LibGuide page is designed to introduce you to how to use a library database in order to find the most effective resources for your academic needs.
HCC Librarians provide access to our collection of databases through the Database Finder.
Notice the pull down menu options along the top header of the Database Finder. This provides you with an option to resort based Subject, Type of Resource (article, video, image, etc.) and Database Vendor. The best pull down menu option to start with is Subject.
See the boxes on this page for database recommendations.
Reference resources define and provide background information on a topic. Reference resources can also provide more subject terms and keyword search terms to help narrow and focus results.
The resources found in these databases cover specific subject categories such as:
Access to video content has become easier and more common. The streaming videos databases cover multiple topics and provide access but not limited to:
General Article databases are great place to start for new academic research users. These databases provide easy access to several different types of publications on multiple topics:
The following databases are good to use when you need to find resources that present both sides to an issue. These types of resources are usually needed for a Pro/Con or what is called a Argumentative essay.