Use the navigation menu to delve into such topics as Culture and Society, History, Life Stages, and much more. Find statistics under Social Indicators.
Try these culture encyclopedias
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily LifeeBook online and hard copy in the library. Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Topics are history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.. PRO Tip: After you log into this eBook, scroll down to find the cultural group that you're researching - or - use the Search box on the left.
Encyclopedia of American Folklife"Folklife" is defined socially as tradition-centered communities, locations or groups, and culturally as the skills, symbols, identities, and customs of such groups. This reference work covers folklife in America. PRO TIP: After you log into this eBook, select Table of Contents to browse topics from A to Z, or use the search box.
Culture and Customs of the United StatesComprehensive study of what makes the United States a complex blend of customs and traditions.Each volume in this comprehensive two-volume study offers chapters that detail how American life was born and how it has grown, covering the history of customs as well as how traditions are now celebrated in New England, the South, the Midwest, the Pacific Northwest, and the Southwest, as well as Alaska and Hawaii.
Hover over the i buttons for Info about the databases and Pro Tips on using them.
Academic OneFile (Gale)This link opens in a new windowArticles from leading scholarly journals and reference sources across the gamut of subjects taught in higher education institutions.
PRO TIP: On the results screen, Filter Your Results to narrow to Document Type, or to Search Within the results to narrow them further.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for higher education. PRO TIP: After entering search terms, Limit to Full Text. After results appear, Refine by Source Types.
Google Scholar (Google)This link opens in a new windowThis special part of Google provides an alternative way to search for scholarly articles that may be online. Accessing Google Scholar here will cause any search results located in HCC Libraries databases to be labeled Full Text @ HCC.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowContent from back issues of core journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PRO TIP: Use the search bar on the homepage OR the Search dropdown menu OR the Browse dropdown menu at the top of the page to find sources. With Advanced Search you can narrow down the kind of results you want by date, discipline, and item type.
You can search any topic—including literary ones—in these video databases.
Hover over the i buttons to get info and Pro Tips for using these resources.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)This link opens in a new windowCollection of videos covering a wide range of subjects across the spectrum of college and university curricula. PRO TIP: In the upper search bar, you can search for subjects. Or just explore the categories on the homepage. Click on the video and you can stream right in your browser. The homepage features full videos and series that are most relevant and popular for the subjects listed. On a video page, scroll to the bottom for more related videos. Transcripts and citation help provided.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)This link opens in a new windowA collection of more that 62,000 video titles spanning the wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. PRO TIP: Use the search bar in the upper right corner of the page to search for a keyword. Or click the red filter button in the upper middle of the homepage to browse by subject. You can also click the three horizontal bars to explore Channels. Transcripts and citation help provided.