Skip to Main Content

Subject Websites: Google Search Tutorials

A subject directory of helpful websites selected by HCC librarians.

Google Tutorials

Search Google like a pro and, just as importantly, evaluate what you fnd.

Google web search

Google Web Search

Here are tips for how to Search on Google. 

Google pages for advanced search, videos, and images are linked below:

Google Books - search and access books online, some in full text

Google Book Search

What is it?

Google Books lets you search inside of millions of books. Learn more about Google Books. 

How do I use it?

Use the "find in a library" link to discover if HCC owns a book. Learn more about how to use Google Books.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives. Note: Access may be limited.

Set up Google Scholar on your device for Full Text @ HCC

Google Scholar can link to full-text articles within many of your library's subscription databases. 

  • While on campus, "Full Text @ HCC" links will display automatically in a list of Google Scholar search results.
  • After clicking on the "Full Text @ HCC" link, if it asks you to log-in use your NetID information or go to the HCC Libraries HCC ID Help page. 
  • After logging in you will be connected to the full text article.

Will it work from my home computer?

Yes! If you are using Google Scholar off campus, then you will need to set it up to show library access links for Hillsborough Community College - Full Text @ HCC. Follow these instructions if you wish to use Google Scholar at home. You will need a google account. 

Visit http://scholar.google.com. Log-in to your Google account:

  1. Click on the menu (or "hamburger") icon and select Settings

  2. Select "Library Links"

  3. Search for Hillsborough Community college. (You can also include Florida Electronic Library & WorldCat if they show up for your search)

  4. Don't forget to click on the Save button.

​

Google Scholar settings