Subject Websites: Social Sciences

Formerly in the Library of Congress American Memory digital collection, over 2,300 photographs and 7,700 pages of text relating to the American Indians of the Pacific Northwest. Now curated by the U of Washington Libraries.

As one of the oldest departments of anthropology in the United States, our collections and archives are important resources for the history and continuing work of our discipline.

Ancient World Mapping Center
Information on GIS projects and records: including atlases, downloadable maps and articles relating to cartography, epigraphy and historical geography.

Archaeology Data Service aims "to collect, describe, catalogue, preserve, and provide user support for digital resources that are created as a product of archaeological research."

A comprehensive directory categorizing content-rich, well designed websites.

An online portal to anthropology projects on the web. Information available, depending on the project, includes case studies, photographs, publications, field notes and other primary materials.

Find archival resources that have been gathered from museums, libraries and other institutions. These documents, images, etc., relate to historical Floridians, especially minorities and Native Americans.

features 900+ of Alistair Cooke's Letter from America BBC radio broadcasts sharing insights and observations to Britons on the social, political, and cultural aspects of American life, as a counterpoint to the Hollywood image of the US.

The Orange County Library System's resources related to Florida's Native American history.

The collections of the Department of Anthropology are a vast and unparalleled resource for inquiry into the cultures, arts, and technologies of the world's peoples, from deep in prehistory to the present day.

Includes subject tabs like "Standards and Interpretations," "Handbooks & Dictionaries," "Professional Associations," etc.

vast multi-media library providing timely information for the business owner. Sponsored by Dun & Bradsetreet.

Research guides organized by category and created by Business Reference and Services Section (of the Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association).

from the Business Reference Services of the Library of Congress

Business and culture etiquette guides for over 80 countries, from a global training consultants company with a broad training portfolio.

Downloadable business planning, finance, sales, marketing and management templates. Presented by SCORE Association.

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh's Subject Guide to Sample Business Plans and Profiles for Specific Business Types.

Includes data from: Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Statistics of U.S. Businesses and more.

This World Bank site "provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 185 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level."

Registration statements, periodic reports, and other information provided by companies registered with the SEC. This database allows you to search through it all.

Includes how-to guides, sample business plans, etc. Also includes "Entrepreneus Assist", "Home Based Biz" and "Online Business" sections.

Stanford University's Entrepreneurship Corner provides a free collection of over 1600 videos and podcasts, featuring lectures by today's Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders.

Debt.org is America’s Debt Help Organization; we provide small businesses information on how to deal with small business debt.

Search and access filed information for corporations, LLCs, Limited Partnerships, and Trademarks by Name.

Franchising opportunities sorted alphabetically or by industry, location, etc.

A global analytics and advice firm that helps leaders and organizations solve their most pressing problems.

Harvard Business School

Headquartered at Dale Mabry Campus but serving the entire community, InLab@HCC is the centralized hub for all things related to innovation, creativity, entrepreneurship, and social venturing offered at Hillsborough Community College.

How to start a business: create a website, get a loan, incorporate, learn about your target audience, templates, and more.

Offers free access to business reference sources including Encyclopedia of Small Business, Encyclopedia of Business, Business Biographies, Business Plans, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encylcopedia of Management, Company Histories, and Leading American Businesses.

Provides extensive info and resources related to how to start and run your own successful business.

Website for the U.S. government agency with information and services to aid small businesses.

"Preparing a business plan may seem like an overwhelming task, but the Business Model Canvas (BMC) can make the process less stressful." Presented by SCORE Association.

BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, crime victims, and criminal justice operations.

information on intimate partner violence and sexual violence.

This page includes some links that are appropriate for students interested in learning about cybercrime (hacking, piracy, identity theft, etc.).

Home page of the Criminology and Criminal Justice Studies Program. This is an undergraduate college program at Hillsborough Community College in which students can earn an Associate in Science Degree, a College Credit Certificate, as well as an Associate in Arts Degree in various Criminal Justice fields. This site provides many useful links for criminal justice information and research.

Provides a range of state of-the-art tools and services to law enforcement, national security and intelligence community partners, and the general public.

Through surveys conducted with students, teachers, parents and authorities, this page conveys recent data about school crime and safety across the country.

A national nonprofit organization of state Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) directors, researchers, and practitioners throughout government, academia, and criminal justice organizations

This organization provides public information about how to keep neighborhoods safe and how to avoid dangerous situations.

"NCJRS is a federally sponsored information clearinghouse for people around the country and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control."

A visual representation of key corrections statistics for each state as well as a comparison of each state in relation to other states. NIC is an agency within the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons. Stated mission: "to provide training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies."

NIJ is the "research, development, and evaluation agency of the US Dept. of Justice and is dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues."

From the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe., this database consolidates aspects of policing activities with the 56 OSCE Participating States into a comprehensive, multilingual resource. Includes profiles of each participating country, information about international organized crime, etc.

The Race and Justice Clearinghouse provides information, analysis, and commentary on race and ethnicity as they interact with the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems. Contains information and tools to understand racial disparities. Courtesy of the Sentencing Project.

Contains tables of statistics on a wide range of criminal-justice-related topics. Includes a section on public opinion as well as statistics collected by law enforcement, judicial, and corrections agencies.

U.S. Department of Commerce - "BEA's national economic program provides a quantitative view of US domestic production, consumption, and investment, of exports and imports, and of national and domestic income and saving."

from the Business Reference Services of the Library of Congress

Includes data from: Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Statistics of U.S. Businesses and more.

Research & analysis for state and federal fiscal policy and public programs. Reports available from 1996.

The Federation is part of the global fair trade movement, building equitable and sustainable trading partnerships and creating opportunities to alleviate poverty.

The Federal Reserve is the main bank for the United States. It controls the money supply and sets interest rates, among other things.

Directory of links to international business resources.

Up-to-the-minute info on stock prices and trends. Also includes portfolios, a stock screener, and a page about domestic trends.

Good industry info to be found on this site. However, beware the sponsored links.

Find statistics and analysis about trade in various industries, including: Aerospace, Automotive, Financial and Health industries.

Extensive, up-to-the-minute information about stocks, equities, futures and trading technology. Formerly the Philadelphia Stock Exchange, the oldest stock exchange in the U.S.

NBER is "a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works." Includes news, publications, data and more.

Up-to-date, global coverage of S&P indicies.

Search the 1987 version SIC manual.

Monthly journal from the Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Dept. of Commerce), available in PDF format for the years 1994 to present. Features estimates, analyses, and research on the National economy.

Find info about Treasury auctions, how and why to purchase Treasury securities, and how the Treasury Department borrows and manages its money.

The U.S. department home page for investor information, filings, forms, regulations, news and more.

John Wachowicz's convenient, comprehensive business reference and research gateway.

"Launched in April 2012, the site comprises World Bank resources published from 2005 to 2012, including reports, academic books, journals, and working papers. "

Yahoo!'s directory of industry information.

This multi-disciplinary information source provides data and up-to-date research about educational trends. Find out the most effective way to educate.

This organization has provided a wide range of educational media for classrooms to use.

"Florida makes it easy for college graduates who were not education majors to earn the credentials to teach in the state’s K12 public schools." From Florida Virtual Campus.

By the University of Central Florida.

A collection of publications, products, surveys, data tools, and other information resources that relate to educational performance in the country today.

HCC Libraries list of links to Copyright information.

A non-profit that offers an alternative to full copyright for Audio, Video, Images, Text, Education, and Software. "Share, reuse, and remix — legally."

Search for independent documentary videos on educational and social issues available in the U.S. and Canada. Includes descriptions, reviews and awards. Searchable by subject, title, country, grade level, and more.

Lesson Planning, Technology Integration, School Issues,Professional Development and more.

Provides resources for a variety of education topics as well as lesson plans by subject and resource guides.

FCIT provides many resources for Florida teachers, including training materials for telecommunications, interactive instruction on technology, and maintenance of online database resources.

This organization empowers state educational leaders to learn and succeed in their enterprises.

Florida Virtual Campus provides "access to online student and library support services, and to serve as a statewide resource and clearinghouse for technology-based public postsecondary education distance learning courses and degree programs."

TIP is a tool intended to make learning and instructional theory more accessible to educators. The database contains brief summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction.

"Since 1969, NAEP assessments have been conducted periodically in reading, mathematics, science, writing, U.S. history, civics, geography, and other subjects. NAEP collects and reports information on student performance at the national, state, and local levels, making the assessment an integral part of our nation’s evaluation of the condition and progress of education."

The NEA's website includes publications & multimedia, education-related legislative information, educational "hot topics", and more.

NIEER conducts and communicates research to support high quality, effective, early childhood education for all young children.

Online modules containing lessons that students can work on independently with the ability to submit answers and conclusions to their teacher. Teachers can use self-paced lessons as part of their own professional development.

A reporting project that covers issues such as education standards and curriculum, student testing, teacher pay and evaluation, school choice and higher education. Stories are featured on WUSF and national NPR shows, and through digital and print collaborations.

Free, online repository of 700+ professional development videos aimed at teachers preK to 12. 1-15+ min. long. Not close captioned, but many include transcripts and are available under the Creative Commons license.

Government site providing information on grants and contracts, financial aid for students, education resources, research and statistics, and policy.

Directory of debatable topics and other resources for student debaters.

Now under the Encyclopaedia Britannica, the country’s leading source for information and research on all sides of the controversial issues of the day. Explore By Category or Topics A-Z.

Nonpartisan "fact tank" that aims to inform the public about "issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."

HCC Libraries list of links to Copyright information.

A non-profit that offers an alternative to full copyright for Audio, Video, Images, Text, Education, and Software. "Share, reuse, and remix — legally."

Public Library Association page of resources

System status info for Ex Libris products including Alma & Primo. Check: Higher Ed Platform NA07

FALSC provides information, training, tools, and other resources for library staff at the colleges and universities served by the Florida Virtual Campus (FLVC).

FLVC currently supports an annual group licensing process for E-Resource products. In the summer, libraries are asked for a list of electronic resources they are interested in obtaining for the following year. FLVC gathers this information and request quotes from vendors for products that several institutions are interested in. The consortium negotiates group discounts, and the libraries agree to purchase a subscription for the following year. One payment is made by each institution to FLVC for all products purchased through a group license. FLVC then pays the vendors. All products are made available on January 1st of the following year.

The Florida Virtual Campus licenses electronic resources on behalf of the state’s 28 public colleges and 12 public universities, under advisement from the Members Council on Library Services. These shared collections are funded by the Florida Legislature; FLVC negotiates with each vendor for licensing, and provides user authentication and access services.

FLIN is a statewide cooperative network for interlibrary loan and resource sharing.

"GreyNet is dedicated to Research, Publication, Open Access, and Education in the field of Grey Literature"

Sub-committee of the Florida College System Council on Instructional Affairs.

"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."

Library of Congress Classification is a system first developed in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to organize and arrange the book collections in the Library of Congress. It is now used in academic libraries worldwide.

From Maine State Library.

Create HCC library links that work anywhere.

Search for an item in all libraries near you.

Nonpartisan, nonprofit project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania. It aims to "monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players" with the goal of increasing public knowledge and understanding.

This site from Yale Law School collects historical documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from pre-18th century to the present.

Find and compare the countries of the world based on key facts including GDP, inflation rate, public debt, income distribution and population growth rate.

An A-Z encyclopedia of topics concerning the EU. Also Includes EU chronology, evolution, info on the European Parliament and more. Maintanied by British Economists connected with the Julian Hodge bank.

The Daily Journal of the United States Government

Find out how money affects politics on the state level. The researcher can find out what district he or she is in, who is giving the most to which candidate and more.

Provides nonpartisan news, insight and analysis on such issues as public finance, transportation, economic development, health, energy, the environment and technology.

HCC Libraries Libguide for government information in the categories: Executive, Legislative, Judicial, Departments and Agencies, International, State, Florida, & Local, voting & elections & the constitution.

Law Library of Congress.

ElectionGuide by International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) "is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information and results available online."

Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to "check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents." Based at George Washington University.

This website tracks the influence of money on U.S. politics and how money affects public policy and the lives of citizens.

Polling data concerning public attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues.

Links to major and minor political parties and affiliated organizations. Also includes other political link directories.

A comprehensive collection of material about the Presidents of the United States and the history of the presidency.

This website for the APA offers pyschology information for students, the public, and professionals in the field.

"Full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web."

Mental Health links, reference, research, multimedia and more from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institites of Health.

A listing of disorders, and info about their diagnosis, symptoms and treatment -- (organized according to various subject headings).

This site is run by the Department of Veterans' Affairs. It provides educational info on the diagnosis and treatment of PTSD, as well as helpful advice about how to live with PTSD if you or a loved one are affected by it.

This Wesleyan University's site offers links to thousands of social-psychology and general psychology resources.

The official site for the national association for sociologists.

Search for independent documentary videos on educational and social issues available in the U.S. and Canada.

The mission of the journal is to translate research into better policy and practice for children.

Various Internet materials -- texts, Power Points, bibliographies, etc. -- related to eight social theorists, compiled by an expert in the field.

"This is a great resource for researchers and activists who need fact sheets, surveys, policy briefs, and brochures on global issues with a focus on women and gender...."

Open textbook with chapters/entries on research, culture, social interaction, deviance and crime, media, social stratification, race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality, family, religion, education, politics, etc.

] Created by the Human Development Project, this site uses a straightforward 10-point scale to measure the "well-being of America," which is defined by three major factors: health, education, and income. Data are displayed through interactive, color-coded maps of the US. When a user scrolls over a state, a pop-up window appears providing a data set for the state.

Athabasca University's electronic, searchable (both terms and definition text) version of a 1000+ item dictionary authored by Gary Parkinson, Ph.D. and Robert Drislane, Ph.D.

A virtual laboratory at which visitors can examine their own hidden biases. Project Implicit is the product of research by three scientists whose work produced a new approach to understanding of attitudes, biases, and stereotypes.

Provides original research compiled from experts in the field of social science data gathering.

Worldwide collaborative for open access publshing sponsored by Social Science Electronic Publishing. Provides over 723,848 research papers from 333,894 researchers across 30 disciplines

"Aims to bring sociology to the world by providing blog space, regular columns, and academic reports designed to popularize and disseminate the fascinating world of sociological research."

Oxford Reference, requires HCC login.