Subject Websites: Arts

Architectural sites, mobile apps, podcasts, news feeds, blogs, and trade shows and expos.

ArchDaily is the most visited source of tools, inspiration, and knowledge for those who will imagine, design, and build our future world.

AAT is a structured vocabulary, including terms, descriptions, and other metadata for generic concepts related to art, architecture, conservation, archaeology, and other cultural heritage. Included are work types, styles, materials, techniques, and others.

The Gottscho-Schleisner Collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Subjects are concentrated chiefly in the northeastern United States, especially the New York City area, and Florida.

The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes, including examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.

ULAN is a structured vocabulary, including names, biographies, related people, and other metadata about artists, architects, firms, studios, museums, patrons, sitters, and other people and groups involved in the creation and study of art and architecture.

Dance/USA is the national service organization for professional dance, serving a broad cross-section of the dance field. Established in 1982, it champions an inclusive and equitable dance field by leading, convening, advocating, and supporting individuals and organizations. Dance/USA provides four core services: Leadership & Learning, Research & Information, Advocacy & Visibility, Archiving & Preservation. It also offers several special programs, initiatives, and resources for its membership and the dance field.

The Dance Studies Association (DSA) is an international organization of dance scholars, educators, and artists that aims to strengthen the visibility and increase the reach of dance as embodied practice, creative endeavor and intellectual discipline.

Jacob’s Pillow Dance Interactive is an ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today.

This site details the Academy Awards, Academy publications, the Center for Motion Picture Study, and more.

Dedicated to "advancing and preserving the art of the moving image", the AFI site offers information on upcoming programs, events, exhibitions, film education, and more.

Online DVD, Blu-ray, Ultra HD (4K) and game reviews and news.

Open access electronic journal

As a historical record of Britain in the 1940s, this is an invaluable archive of documentary films made by the British to counteract Nazi propaganda.

Source for worldwide film news, critical reviews, industry information and more. Includes access to the online site for the Institue's magazine

Offers news, reviews, discussion, festival info, and links for documentary films and filmaking.

Search for independent documentary videos on educational and social issues available in the U.S. and Canada.

Online site including selected online articles from the magazine as well as archived articles.

Regular 8mm and Super 8mm film camera site. Includes general film/filmmaking information, downloadable manuals, how-to guides for beginners, community forums and more.

Resources for independent films and filmmaking

This commercial site covers up-to-date information on over 130,000 films and includes plot summaries, character names, links to film criticism and more.

HCC Libguide containing links to various media resources (audio, visual, software, ebooks, etc) on the web.

Latin American film platform with free, legal VOD (video on demand).

Third Edition of the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, which we are publishing online in collaboration with Gollancz and the SF Gateway.

Art21 is a series of short-format documentary films produced by PBS featuring contemporary artists. Their companion website provides access to artists biographies, video shorts, and previews of new episodes as well as resources for educators.

AAT contains "more than 133,000 terms covering everything from fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. Short definitions are available as well as a hierarchical tree of related terms."

Created by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, ArtBabble is a website that showcases high quality art-related video content from more than 50 cultural institutions from around the world.

"A comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources."

Links to artist, ehxibition and gallery sites. Mainly contemporary in nature. Also offers a unique artist ranking system.

Compiled by Chris Witcomb of Sweet Briar College, this site includes hundreds of links to sites covering various art periods and cultures.

Artsy indexes the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions and spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art. Artsy is also the home of the Art Genome Project, a classification system and technological framework that maps the characteristics, or “genes”, that connect artists, artworks, architecture, and design objects across history.

Find international and local artists, museums and gallery events. These are listed accordingly under every conceivable genre and style.

"A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection."

site is a collaboration between Oxford UP's Grove Art Online/Oxford Art Online and the National Gallery of Art. 8 thematic units place art into historical and social contexts. Includes discussion questions, activities, etc. 42 primary source texts.

Searchable guide to the museum's treasures.

Data on all of the more than 100,000 objects in the National Gallery of Art's (Washington D.C.) collection can be found using the search capabilities. Also offers "tours" of the collections and multilingual guides.

~4600 public domain images representing the most frequently requested works from the Getty Museum.

ULAN is a structured vocabulary, including names, biographies, related people, and other metadata about artists, architects, firms, studios, museums, patrons, sitters, and other people and groups involved in the creation and study of art and architecture.

This site aims at deepening our understanding of Leonardo da Vinci through a series of European exhibitions, scientific research and web-based resources.

"largest site for contemporary art, art news, art history, contemporary artist and gallery portfolios, online since 1995."

Archive of sound recordings, videos photographs, radio shows, etc. derived from the Alan Lomax Archive and its custodian, the Association for Cultural Equity (ACE).

All music styles are represented and some of the many features of this site include "Music Maps", "Essays & Articles", a music glossary, over 300,00 recordings and 1.5 million song titles, reviews, artist biographies and more.

PBS site for roots music information including: program summaries, oral histories, songs and artists, instruments and more.

Includes many thousands of original archived documents, as well as audio files for examples of Beethoven's work. Also includes portraits and topographical views.

PBS site for the Martin Scorsese produced series features many online resources to supplement this informative program, as well as information on the installments and the dirtectors.

"The Citizen DJ project invites the public to make hip hop music using the free-to-use audio and video collections from the Library of Congress. By embedding these materials in hip hop music, listeners can discover items in the Library’s vast collections that they likely would never have known existed."

Provides access to digital images for over 3,000 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.

New version of University of Oregon's interactive site offers a good introduction to electronic music.

This site devoted to the music of different world cultures offers links to organizations, institutions, archives, publications, recordings, and more.

The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads

Music scores available by composer (alpha or by period), or instrumentation.

Hamilton College's Jazz Archive..."Some 300 interviews have now been conducted, mainly by Rowe but also by music professor Michael Woods. The archive's website provides access to full text of the transcripts and audio tracks of most of them."

HCC Libguide containing links to various media resources (audio, visual, software, ebooks, etc) on the web.

Shows the many Web resources and digital resources that the Library of Congress has made available.

" Wide range of music and dance reference tools in one place. The core of the site is an extensive list of traditional reference tools of these types, including some 7,400 entries (1,800-plus annotated) for bibliographies, discographies, specialized dictionaries, catalogs, and other indexes. The listings also include many Internet resources, e.g., composer websites, portals for particular subjects, and musical instrument online collections. "

Produced by the Lib. of Congress. Provides streaming music from their collection of historical sound recordings.

This cite contains classical, jazz, folk, world music, and more.

A reference site devoted to helping identify public domain music that is no longer under copyright restrictions and can now be used "royalty free."

Multimedia site devoted to the history of jazz pre-1930. Includes historical audio, film, and essays.

Search Internet Archive collection of sheet music in the public domain.

The Sheet Music Consortium is a virtual and searchable catalog of sheet music in the United States collected from Sheet Music Consortium member institutions.

Find recordings (both old and current), and search for information and events related to Smithsonian Folkways music.

From London comes this Hi-Tech Recording Magazine Online. Includes news, articles, recording techniques, community forum, links, and more.

Website for the "Creative Music Recording Magazine".

An easy-to-use reference source about digital printing for photographers and designers. It including guides for calibrating monitors and printers, managing colors in Photoshop and Lightroom, and an overview of color management techniques.

Yahoo/Lib. of Congress partnership includes over 200,000 images from more than 50 international cultural heritage institutions.

Searchable collections of stock photography, illustrations, art, video and more. Includes royalty free and rights managed stock.

HCC Libguide with Image links & resources.

A small sampling of the The George Eastman House/International Museum of Photography and Film collection.

Shows a wide variety of ceramics work done by contemporary artists, for the purpose of educating the ceramics student.

"An illustrated catalogue of more than 100,000 ancient vases."

A Comprehensive site with resources related to sculpture on and off the internet.

Includes theater playbills and programs, English and Yiddish playscripts, motion pictures, sound recordings, and an entire section on Harry Houdini.

J. Paul Getty Museum. "This exhibition explores the many ways Greek drama was interpreted by ancient Greek artists, whose works are frequently the only surviving evidence of the performing arts in antiquity. A wide variety of objects — including sculptures, painted vases, and a rare fragmentary papyrus — brings to life the rich history of ancient Greek theater."

Provides info about Broadway productions, as well as theatre education and professional development. There is also a press room that relates Broadway news.

Full-text of Shakespeare's works are available at this MIT site. Also links to another recommended site Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet for secondary sources.

Billed as a "web-site and journal dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman theatre in performance, and to the legacy of ancient theatre."

Playbill's Theatre Central list of links to all aspects of theatre and theatre production.

Site for searching for, purchasing, and licensing plays. Plus many other features.

"The mission of the ISE is to inspire a love of Shakespeare's works in a world-wide audience by delivering open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards of scholarship, design, and usability."

Resources provided for drama educators and students. Provides information about drama schools as well.

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Listings and feature articles related to current theatre events. Also includes info about casting, tickets, etc.

Information, opinions and visuals about the original nature of Shakespearean performance during his lifetime, and its development thereafter.

Industry news, "theatre buzz," as well as discussion forums, media kits, and other theatre resources.