Online Databases - SBM 2000 - (Brandon) Small Business Mgmt - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Business Databases

Please consult the "Home" Tab for log-in information.

Business (Gale)
Full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Funded by State Library of Florida. Find a tutorial.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Funding source: FLVC group license. Find a tutorial.

Industry/Market Research

Industry/Market Resarch - INLab@HCC (Dale Mabry): Industry/Market Research Learn more about doing an industry analysis, etc.

Business Research Tips

Business Research Tips
Tips on using the library databases to search for company information, annual reports, competitors, company mission statements, market share, SWOT analyses, industry overviews, etc.

Demographics Now

eBooks and Reference

The following ebook collections include business titles. Please consult the "Home" Tab for log-in information.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Bloomsbury eBooks
eBooks (Gale)
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press)
Springer EJournal Collection
Search tips
1. On the homepage, under Browse by Discipline, click a subject to browse articles, books, reference works, and more, in that subject.
2. Or, use the search bar at the top of the page to search for a title, keyword, subject, or author.
3. On the left side of the screen, you can narrow down your search by the content type or sub-discipline.
4. Above those search filters is a box you can un-check to exclude materials not available to HCC.
5. To view the item, click on the title; you can also download PDFs to view offline.
More tips
On the results page, each title has its content type identified (book, article, etc.)above the title. Sometimes articles are parts of collections, and you can find related materials in the collection on the right side of the page after opening the title. When you open a book, you can navigate the chapters menu to read them online or download individually, or download the entire book.

Helpful Hint

Look for a citation feature in the databases. Sometimes they will provide the citation in specific formats like APA.

HCPLC Business Resources

For more business resources, visit the Hillsborough County Public Library Cooperative website. You will need your free HCPLC Library card. Apply online to get your library card faster. Or, to find your closest public library branch, select locations.

Once you've got your card, go to their Learning & Research and select business and investments. Of particular interest are Reference USA, ValueLine, and Mergent Online.

SBM 2000 - (Brandon) Small Business Mgmt: Online Databases