Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SYG 2000 - Mellan (Plant City): Instructions for Finding Sociology Journal Articles

This guide has the information needed to complete the journal article analysis project in Dr. Mellan's Sociology class.

Article Databases

Article Databases

The two databases found on this page can be used for this assignment.  

Education Source Tips

Tip Sheet

Database searches for the required research articles can be an adventure.  Above is a tip sheet on Education Source (EBSCO) that can help you to get started.  If it doesn't help, please contact your campus librarian for additional help. 

Journals found on the Education Database

The Journals that can be found on the  Education Source database are:

  • Journal of Marriage and Family
  • Social Policy
  • Family Relations

To access the database, choose Education Source below.

Video Instruction

Video Instruction

Use this video as a hands on instruction tutorial for searching Education Source for the journal article needed for this assignment.

Academic Search Complete Tips

Tip Sheet

Database searches for the required research articles can be an adventure.  Above is a tip sheet on Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) that can help you to get started.  If it doesn't help, please contact your campus librarian for additional help. 

Journals found on the Academic Search Complete Database

The Journals that can be found on the Academic Search Complete database are:

  • Social Forces
  • Journal of Social Issues

To access the database, choose Academic Search Complete below.

Video Instruction

Video Instruction

Watch the video instruction for Education Source.  Academic Search Complete and Education Source are similar databases.  Just pay attention to the journal names above that are found in Academic Search Complete.