LibGuides: Biotechnology: Find Books and Articles

About Articles

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles?

Many sources you will find when conducting college-level library research are scholarly articles, often called "peer-reviewed," or "academic."

The tutorials below explain the typical appearance, structure, and function of scholarly articles.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (interactive diagram)

Pro/Con

Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing)
A database with some articles, media, editorials, news items on biotechnology topics.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Look for pro/con articles in journals and magazines and other media on biotechnology topics.

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Find a tutorial here.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCO)
Full text articles covering biological and agricultural studies including the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and more." Funded by FLVC group license. Find a tutorial here.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Offers information from scholarly, government and general-interest periodicals that cover all aspects of human impact to the environment.Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Funding source: Free resource.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
From the National Library of Medicine. Includes sources covering nursing, dentistry, medicine, veterinary medicine, and more, from academic medical journals and professional magazines. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Find a tutorial here.
Science (Gale in Context)
Reference information, journal and magazine articles, and other media, covering all fields of science and organized into a portal for easy research. Funding source: FLVC group license. Find a tutorial here.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: Access may be limited.

Google Scholar Search Tips (includes how to locate the full text of an article)

If you're off-campus, Set up Google Scholar on your computer to allow access to resources available through HCC Libraries.

Pro Tip: Access Google Scholar through HCC Libraries databases; no need to adjust your computer's settings to show results in HCC Libraries:

Google Scholar (Google) Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives. Access may be limited. Funding source: Other, free. Here is a tutorial.

Biotechnology: Find Books and Articles

Search HCC Libraries

Find books, articles, videos, & more

About Articles

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles?

Pro/Con

Databases

Google Scholar

Biotechnology News