Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources have background info
Reference resources - such as encyclopedias and dictionaries - can provide background info on your topic. Reading encyclopedias can also give you search terms to use in the library catalog and databases.
Find hard copy reference books in the library, and online reference resources right here on this page.
May I cite reference sources?
Your instructor may allow certain reference sources to be cited, especially subject-specific ones - for example, an encyclopedia of art. However, best to ask before including it in your cited sources!
How do I find reference resources?
In the library:
Reference books on countries and cultures are in the Library's Reference room, 2nd floor of DLRC. Ask for help in finding what you need.
Below are databases of encyclopedias. In each database, you can search your country, culture or cultural topic in multiple reference sources at once.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to a facts, figures, definitions, and translations, also includes information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series. Click "Subjects" for titles under each category.
Funding source: FLVC group license
Global Road Warrior (World Trade Press) This link opens in a new windowPick a country. On the left menu follow links to: Life Stages, Holidays, Food, and more. Under Culture and Society, topics include Greetings and Courtesies, Stereotypes, Superstitions and Folklore, and more. Or - you can use the Search box - enter keywords to search for results from all countries.
Salem Online (Salem Press) This link opens in a new windowOnline reference materials across a wide variety of subjects.
Funding source: HCC