Popular Mechanics (Carver) - ENC 1102 - Sumner-Kenefick (Ybor City) - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Popular Mechanics

Raymond Carver

TIP: When searching for online articles, copy/paste the author's last name and the title of the work from this box. This way, you can be sure of a correct spelling.

Image: Gale, Cengage Learning

About This Page

Use one or more of these resources to find critical articles ("outside" or "secondary" sources) about the literary work named on the left.

On the right is a link to an online eBook and/or a list of print books in the library—all of these contain material about the story or poem.
The Ybor City Library Search portal below will bring up a wide variety of materials. Type the "name of the work in quotation marks" followed by the author's last name. Example: "The Story of an Hour" Chopin.
Further down are links to specific literary databases. Search tips are provided for each.

HCC Libraries Search

Library Databases for Literature Research

Click a link below to access a database of articles about literary works.

Log-In instructions are on the Home tab.

Click the buttons for tips on using each database.

Literature (Gale)
In the second box (next to Name of Work), type the title of the story or poem.
In the third box (next to Person-By or About), type the author's last name. Click Search.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
In the first field, type the title of the literary work in "quotation marks" followed by the author's last name.
Check the "Full text" box.
Under "Document Type" select "Literary Criticism."
Click "Search." Looks Like This.
Gale Literature Criticism
Contains material from Gale Literature Criticism Series books.
Type the title of the work in the first box.
Type the author's last name in the second box.
Click Search.

Selected eBook & Books in the Library

Short Stories for Students (eBook)

How to use this eBook.
After you log in, type the title of your work in the search box on the right, directly below the word, Tools. Looks like this. Be sure you type the title correctly! If the title is one word, add the author's last name. If your short story is covered in this reference, an article about it will likely appear at the top of your search results.

These books ↓ contain additional outside sources of literary criticism.

The eBook is available online. It contains an extensive article about Raymond Carver's Popular Mechanics.

The print books have a Call Number. This shows where they are located in the Reference room - south side of the library. They are for in-library use only.

While they do not specifically refer to Popular Mechanics, these books can be useful in exploring Carver's overall work.

Material from these books will be accepted by your instructor for your "critical articles" assignment.

These books are located in the Reference room - south side of the library - and are for in-library use only.

Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Call Number: REF PN3321 .C7 2012
What's in this print book.
Profiles of major short-story writers throughout history and the world. Essays include "Analysis" of the writer's style and themes, with subsections on one or more works of short fiction. Authors are arranged in in sub-sets for "American"..."British, Irish and Commonwealth"..."European"...and "World." A volume of "Topical Essays" is also included.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Call Number: REF PN 771 .C59

What’s in this print book?
Each volume profiles approx. 6-8 novelists, poets, playwrights and other creative writers. Provides full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Each volume includes a cumulative Topics index, for example: Feminism in Literature...The Vietnam War in Short Fiction.
To find criticism by title, use the paperback Title Index...OR...
use the online Gale Literary Index to find the volume & page numbers that discuss the literary work you're researching.
American Writers
Call Number: REF PS 129 .A55
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Call Number: REF PN 771 .E5 1999
Major 20th Century Writers
Call Number: REF PN 771 .M27 1999