Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some essays about Neil Gaiman's works
The two books shown below contain scholarly essays on Neil Gaiman's works.
To open each eBook, click the book cover or linked title.
Critical Insights: Neil Gaiman From the publisher: "....Gaiman's works encourage readers to embrace love, fear, pain, pride, and most of the remaining emotional spectrum with an earnest vigor, gentle humor, and honest warmth, the likes of which humble the greats in all media to which he has contributed. This volume contains 14 essays that....are as diverse a look at the life and work of...Gaiman as any in print today."
Call Number: (On Reserves shelf) PR6057 .A319 Z76 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The Search box defaults to Phrase search. If needed, change the default to "Has all the words" - or to "Has any of the words."
Neil Gaiman in the 21st Century The essays here examine the following works by Gaiman:
Plus, a cartoonist reflects on his connection to Gaiman's work.
- American Gods
- Anansi Boys
- The Graveyard Book
- The Ocean at the End of the Lane
- The Wolves in the Walls
- Blueberry Girl
- A Calendar of Tales
- Sandman: Overture
Call Number: (On Reserves shelf) PR6057 .A319 Z785 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Click PDF Full Text, then Search Within, to enter your keywords.
Find more materials about Gaiman, using PRIMO
PRIMO, the catalog, is the library's general search portal. It will will usually bring up a big and diverse list of results.
You will find this portal on your Canvas course page, as explained in Where's the Library?
Or, use this box:
Find books, articles, videos, & more
Not sure how to start? Try typing the name of the work in quotation marks - even if the title is just one word - followed by the author's last name.
Example: "the ocean at the end of the lane" gaiman
A few more strategies:
- Use filters on the left menu to narrow or focus results.
- Adding more search terms or keywords can change results.
- Using the example above, the added term is the last word here: "the ocean at the end of the lane" gaiman narnia
- If searching a film adaptation, try something like this: gaiman stardust film
- Search scope defaults to "Everything."
- Change the scope to "HCC Catalog" and try the search that way, too.
Also use: Literary research databases
Besides the Libraries' general portal, you also want to search smaller, more-specific databases.
Selected from our Databases A-Z list, below are some databases recommended for you. Tips are provided in the "I" buttons.
Books and Authors (Gale) This database allows readers to explore books, authors, and topics. Enter Neil Gaiman's name in the "Author" field. Filter your results by Subject, Character, etc. - or "Search Within" the results to find material based on your own keywords.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) Results may be easier to navigate by scrolling to Source Types and limiting by Magazines, Academic Journals, etc.
JSTOR Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Literature (Gale) PRO TIPS: The title of a work goes in Name of Work.The author's last name goes in Person-By or About. If the list is too big, Filter Your Results AND/OR Select Revise Search and add a search term to a Keyword field.
If searching for articles about a film adaptation: The film title goes in "Name of Work" then select the autofill option for "Motion Picture."
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) Start by typing the name of the work in the first box, and the author's last name in the second box.
If you get too many results, add another term in the third box AND/OR
Refine Results by Subject, Source Format, etc.
For film adaptations, follow this example:
In the first box, type gaiman.
In the second box, type stardust (film) - in other words, the name of the word followed by the word film in parentheses.
Google Scholar (Google) Searches scholarly articles available online.
This link is pre-set to show articles available through HCC Libraries. Articles available through other institutions are also shown if they are freely available.
To access the actual article that is available to you - there will be a link to the right of the title.
The link might say "Full Text at HCC" - or something like "[PDF]" followed by a web address.