Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search PRIMO, the library catalog, for sources about your story
Find books, articles, videos, & more
- Enter the title of the story in "quotation marks" as in this example: "a rose for emily"
- Click Search.
- If you have not already done so, follow the link to "Sign in to get complete results and to request items" and select "SSO."
- SSO stands for "single sign on" and it will prompt your HCC NetID.
- You can filter your results by Availability, Resource Type, Publication Date, and more.
- Depending on your device, the filter menu appears to the left of the results, or when the filter icon
at the top is selected.
- You can apply multiple filters to increasingly narrow down your results.
- The Subject filter shows the subject headings of items in your results after other filters have been applied. You can select one or more filters to narrow your results further.
You can always change your search by adding or changing keywords.
You can also click "New Search" and start over.
Also search literary research databases
Bloom's Literature Bloom's Literature examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Funding source: FLVC group license
Literature (Gale) Gale Literature brings together all of Gale's literary databases (Literature Criticism, Literature Resources from Gale, & LitFinder) into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) Combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Others to try - focus on the "Best Bets" in each category:
How to Use Literature Databases Video Instruction
This video shows how to find literary criticism in PRIMO, the library catalog and in literary research databases. Captions are available.
The databases demonstrated are Bloom's Literature and Gale Literature. The techniques shown are useful for any database.
The following two links open to documents in new windows.
As you gather results
Library tools can help. A few tips:
Save your results
- Many library search tools provide ways to save results or email them to yourself.
- If you email, you may add a subject line or notes to remind you why you picked that item.
Use citation help
- Many library search tools provide example citations in APA, MLA, and other popular formats.
- Also use HCC Libraries Citation Guide.
Use other tools provided
- For example, some databases provide translations, audio clips of articles, and more.
- Common tools include saving and emailing.
Gather more than you think you'll need
While searching, just search. You can sift through it later when you start writing.
Note new search terms
- As you read over the material you're gathering, will find additional keywords for further searches.
- In online articles and eBooks, notice linked subject terms that connect to other, similar sources.
When using Library resources, NOTICE the screen and the many helpful features provided!