Study Skills - SLS 1106 - First Year Experience Orientation - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

How to Study/What is the best strategy for me?

The information found on this page can be used to help enhance current study habits and skills from note taking, time management to organizing your thoughts.

Tips on Studying and Reading for College

Book Sample

A sample of the types of books and eBooks available through HCC Libraries. Your library card is your student ID/Hawkcard. To view eBooks, you must be logged in - see the Trouble Logging In page for instructions.

21 Strategies for Starting College Strong by Morris, Jason
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781576859964
Publication Date: 2014
College Success Concise by Amy Baldwin
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781951693664
Publication Date: 2023-04-19
This link opens to the library catalog. See the View Online Section of the catalog record for access through the Open Textbook Library.
50 tips for academic success : college edition by Alan Farber and Linda O'Brien
Call Number: LB1049 .F37 2016
ISBN: 9780997589009
Publication Date: 2016
How to Study by Ronald W. Fry
Call Number: LB1049 .F74 2005
ISBN: 9781401889111
Publication Date: 2004-07-29
How College Students Succeed : making meaning across disciplinary perspectives by Nicholas A. Bowman (Editor)
Call Number: LC148.2 .H69 2022
ISBN: 9781642671322
Publication Date: 2022-02-23
Improve Your Grammar : the essential guide to accurate writing by Vanessa Jakeman; Ken Paterson; Mark Harrison
Call Number: PE1112 .H34 2022
ISBN: 9781350933620
Publication Date: 2022-04-07
Conquering Math Anxiety by Cynthia A. Arem
Call Number: QA11.2 .A74 2003
ISBN: 9780534386344
Publication Date: 2002-02-21

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Good Databases to Use

The following databases provide excellent articles on study skills, time management, note taking. Effective keyword search terms to use are:

"study skills"
"note taking" AND "college students"
"time management" AND "college students"

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale) Full-text articles from periodicals and reports for educators, administrators, and education students. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Education Source (EBSCO) Full-text journal articles, books, conference papers, and more, covering early childhood through higher education—including educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Funded by statewide allocation.
Academic OneFile (Gale) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

These are quality websites for the study skills assignment. No log in required.

The Cornell Note Taking System
Adapted from How to Study in College 7/e by Walter Pauk, 2001 Houghton Mifflin Company.
Dartmouth Academic Skills Center
The Learning Resources tab provides some helpful information about being a productive academic student.
How To Study
Chemeketa Community College's resource page for study skills. Also includes a subject approach to studying.
Managing Your Time
Dartmouth Academic Skills Center
Study Skills Self Help Information
A topical approach to study skills from Virginia Tech.

Laptops @ the Library!

Laptop Information

More Items to Check Out

Tech Items at the library