Useful Websites - SLS 1106 - First Year Experience Orientation - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Website Evaluation tools

Think carefully about the sources you are finding and using. Here are some tools that can help:

The SIFT Method
Apply the C.R.A.A.P. detection model (click links for tips):

C for Currency

Currency - How recent is the information?

R for Reliability

Reliability - What kind of information is included in the resource? Is it balanced? Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?

A for Authority

Authority - Who is the creator or author? Who is the publisher or sponsor? What is the author's or publisher's interest (if any) in this information?

A for Accuracy

Accuracy - Is the content readable? Is the content truthful? Is the content correct?

P for Purpose/Point of View

Purpose/Point of View - Is this fact or opinion? Is the creator/author trying to sell you something; persuade you about something?

Finding Information on the Internet: A Tutorial
UC - Berkeley

Useful Websites for Community Health project

These are quality websites for Community Health project. No log in required.

CDC National Center for Health Statistics - Fast Stats
"The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance."
Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-25
Medline Plus: Mental Health & Behavior
Mental Health links, reference, research, multimedia and more from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institites of Health.
National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
This site is run by the Department of Veterans' Affairs. It provides educational info on the diagnosis and treatment of PTSD, as well as helpful advice about how to live with PTSD if you or a loved one are affected by it.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
Great resource on alcohol, drug and nicotine stats for college student age range.
National Survey on Drug Use and Health
Provides national and state-level data on the use of tobacco, alcohol, illicit drugs (including non-medical use of prescription drugs) and mental health in the United States. To view the latest survey report, click on Survey Results, Latest Survey Results.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System
The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including: smoking, unplanned pregnancy, alcohol use, drug use, unhealthy dietary habits.

Health & Medicine

Alzheimer's Association
This is an educational center for the disease that features multimedia, and through various services, offers support for those living with the disease.
American Academy of Allergy Asthma & Immunology
This website offers comprehensive coverage of asthma and allergies as they occurs in children as well as adults.
American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS)
American Diabetes Association
Features of this site include diabetes basics, living with diabetes, food and fitness, research, and how to give to the association.
American Heart Association
Covers the topic of high blood pressure and other heart conditions. Find out why your blood pressure matter, how these conditions can be prevented, and how they are treated.
Anatomy: MEDLINE Plus
Provides a basic anatomical overview, multimedia tools, and info about specific medical conditions.
Autism Research Institute
Information about autism, screening tools, webinars, studies, research studies
Care Compare (Hospital Compare)
Formerly Hospital Compare, now compare hospitals, nursing homes, and other facilities. Sponsored by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and Dept. of Health and Human Services.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Federal agency of United States Department of Health.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Information about participatory research studies which can lead to new treatments and new drugs on the market.
Dana Foundation (Neuroscience & Brain Research)
Provides information and links to validated sites about brain diseases and disorders.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-25
Drug Information Portal
Search by name or category of drug. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Food and Nutrition Information Center (USDA)
Find resources on weight and obesity, dietary supplements, dietary guidance, and food labeling.
Genetics Home Reference
A guide to understanding genetic conditions from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Global Health
A global health portal for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) with access to reports, statistics, speeches, and other information related to global health issues.
Gray’s Anatomy
(Full Text) The standard for human anatomy information and illustrations is available online through Bartleby.com
Health Calculators (MCW)
Health calculators from Medical College of Wisconsin.
Healthcare Writing - Purdue Owl
Health News Florida
WUSF's online and radio health reporting initiative. Emphasizes issues of cost, quality and health care access.
HIV.gov
U.S. Information gatweway for agencies and departments involved in prevention, testing, treatment and research.
HIVInfo
Formerly AIDSInfo. Information on the treatment, prevention, and research of HIV/AIDS from the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
MEDLINEplus
Health topics, drug information, dictionaries, directories, and more from the National Library of Medicine.
MedNar: Deep Web Medical Search
Metasearch engine for medical resources. Sources include governmental sites, medical societies and some commercial databases.
Merck Manuals Online
Includes Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, Merck Manual of Geriatrics, Merck Manual: Home Edition, and the Merck Veterinary Manual.
MyHealthfinder
Consumer health information site from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
MyHealthfinder en Español (MiBuscadorDeSalud)
National Cancer Institute (NIH)
This is the U.S. governments principal agency for cancer research and training.
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (CDC)
Provides information about chronic diseases, the center, its programs and impact, chronic disease data, publications and graphics, and media.
National Center of Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (CDC)
Reliable information on autism, birth defects and developmental disabilities from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Features of the site include screening and diagnosis, data and statistics, free materials, treatments, and links to other websites.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
National Library of Medicine (NIH)
National Sleep Foundation
Nursing World
Resources for Nurses on this American Nurses Association website.
Nutrition.gov
Federal government information portal to resources on nutrition.
The Nutrition Source
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.
Overweight and Obesity (CDC)
This site from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention offers interactive tools, podcasts, and videos. It defines obesity, as well as its causes and consequences. And it also offers resources.
Patient Safety Network (PSNet)
The latest annotated links to patient safety literature, news, and more. (U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services)
PubMed
PubMed provides access to biomedical literature citations.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
UConn Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity
(University of Connecticut; formerly of Yale)
World Health Organization (WHO)
"The directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system." The site includes news, health topics, publications, statistics and more.

SLS 1106 - First Year Experience Orientation: Useful Websites