LibGuides: Culinary: Websites

About Selected Websites

Besides "Googling" your topic, browsing or searching within websites selected by librarians and other subject experts can help you discover information that you might otherwise miss to round out your research. HCC Librarians have picked the websites on this page for their authoritative content.

Professional Menu Collections

Culinary Institute of America
Browse menus from the CIA Menu Collection
Johnson and Wales Menu Collection
Browse the The National Restaurant Association Menu Collection Collections
New York Public Library Menu Collection
Displays digitized menus from the 1850's to the present!
PBS Food
Browse over 1,700 recipes from all your favorite PBS cooking shows.
University of Las Vegas Menu Collection
This University of Nevada-Las Vegas collection includes about 2000 restaurant menus dating from 1870-1930.

Culinary Information From the Web

American Cheese Society
This website provides information on American-made specialty and artisanal cheeses.
American Wine Society
A non-profit, educational, consumer-oriented organization for those interested in learning more about all aspects of wine.
Seafood Watch
Our recommendations help you choose seafood that's fished or farmed in ways that have less impact on the environment.
Serv Safe
Get the certification or training that you need in order to be prepared for your job
Slow Food USA
Welcome to the table! We inspire individuals and communities to change the world through food that is good, clean and fair for all.
The Cook's Thesaurus
The Cook's Thesaurus is a cooking encyclopedia that covers thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools. Entries include pictures, descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations, and suggested substitutions.
Food Safety
FoodSafety.gov is the gateway to food safety information provided by government agencies.
Food Reference
The Food Reference Website contains over 20,000 pages and is constantly growing. New content is added daily to various sections.
Food Network
The best of the Food Network online.

Famous Chefs

Emeril
Website includes menus, shop, link to the "Eat the World" show, foundation, and link to Youtube channel
Giada de Laurentis
Website includes recipes, history, videos, cookbooks and more
Julia Child
PBS website with video, information, history, and recipes
Rachael Ray Show
The show website including recipes
Wolfgang Puck
Website includes information on history, dining options, classes, and special event menus.