Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases below are good, general databases to start. These databases provides access to professional finance journal articles, newspaper articles, and magazine articles. You must be logged into HCC Libraries Online in order to access.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Good database to start with - provides a Subject Guide Search to help narrow your topic.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
America's News (Newsbank)
Click on the NewsBank logo at the top of the page for a listing of subject areas. Choose Business & Economics > Consumer Issues > Cost of Living. Another area to review is Personal Finances and Financial Literacy.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Use search terms such as "buying a car"; "cost of living"; finance, personal.
Consumer Reports.org (EBSCO)
Search here for such things as renter's or home owner's insurance, financial planning articles, personal finance, paying for home repairs. This database provides both buyer's guides and articles on consumer oriented topics.
General OneFile (Gale)
Includes more than 4,200 full-text titles; five newspaper indexes -- a total of nearly 8,000 titles in all with more than 20 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present. InfoTrac OneFile makes approximately 25 million database records available with a single search query. It includes newswires from 89 wire services, newspapers, general interest magazines, refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, and specialty titles in law, health care and computers.
Tampa Bay Business Journal (Bizjournals)
Search for newspaper articles on search terms such as "personal finance" to see newspaper articles that discuss how businesses can assist consumers with personal finance decisions.