Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 - Cavalani (Dale Mabry) - Countries Assignment: How to guides

Links and tips for your "countries" annotated bibliography.

How To... Open an article or eBook from the catalog

Step 1.

Select a title from your search results.

Step 2.

Under "View Online", click on a resource to view the full text.

(If a title had "Available Online" on the search results page, but a "View Online" full text resource does not appear, it is a known error that is being worked on. Unfortunately, we do not own the title in online format, but it appears in the search results for some reason.)

How To... Search for articles or periodicals

Step 1.

Enter your keywords in the Search box on the library’s homepage or the library’s catalog, and click to search.

Step 2.

Sign in, choosing "NetID", and follow the prompts for your HCC credentials.

Step 3.

In the “Filter your results” section of the page, drop down the Resource Type menu and select Videos. Most, if not all, results will be Available Online.

  • Depending on your device, the filter menu appears to the left of the results, or when the filter icon at the top is selected.

Step 4.

To narrow down or get different results, you may add or change keywords. Make sure before you change your search terms that you tell the search filters to “Remember all filters” so it will remember you only want articles.

Step 5.

You may also filter your results. Helpful filters include Publication Date, Subject, and Peer-reviewed Journals.

Step 6.

Select a title from your search results.

Step 7.

Under "View Online", click on a resource to view the full text.

(If a title had "Available Online" on the search results page, but a "View Online" full text resource does not appear, it is a known error that is being worked on. Unfortunately, we do not own the title in online format.)

How To... Search for books & eBooks

Step 1.

Enter your keywords in the search box of either the library or catalog homepage, and click to search.

Step 2.

Sign in, choosing "NetID", and follow the prompts for your HCC credentials.

Step 3.

In the “Filter your results” section of the page, drop down the Resource Type menu and select Books. Results may include both physical books and eBooks.

  • Depending on your device, the filter menu appears to the left of the results, or when the filter icon at the top is selected.

If you want to view only physical books or eBooks, use the "Availability" filters.

Step 4.

To view eBooks, select “Available online.” Then to access an eBook, click the title. Then choose an option under "View Online."

Step 5.

To view physical books, select “Available On Shelf” or “Held by library” in the Availability filters. Physical books will vary by campus, so you can narrow the books down to your library by clicking on Library in the filters and selecting your campus.

If the book you want is at your library, simply write down or take a picture of the call number.

Example: The book below is in the Circulation section. Find the aisle(s) in the PL range, then narrow down to the 721 range, then alphabetical and numerical again.

Step 6.

If a physical book that you want is at another library and you want it sent to your campus library, you can place a hold on it. Instructions for placing a hold are located here. You can start at step 4.

How To... Search for reference entries (background info) in the library catalog

Step 1.

Search for something in the search bar. It can be a subject, keyword, title of a work, or author. You can use a single word, or a phrase. Hit enter or click the magnifying glass button to search. Tip: put quotation marks around a "title" or exact phrase like "global warming".

Reference step 1

Step 2.

Sign in, choosing "NetID", and follow the prompts for your HCC credentials.

Sign-in NetID screenshot

Step 3.

In the “Filter your results” section on the left side of the page, click on Resource Type to open different format options for your search results. In this case, click on Reference Entries. If you want only reference entries you can read online, click on the “Available online” option under Availability.

Reference step 2

Step 4.

You should see some results with the words “reference entry” above the title, and the source is usually an encyclopedia of some kind. If the item says it’s available at a library, you can write down the call number and locate it in the library. If it says Available Online, you can click on it to pull up its page.

Reference step 3

Step 5.

Open the title, then under View Online, there should be at least one link for you to follow.

Reference step 4

Bonus: How to find reference databases

Step 1. Click on "Databases A-Z" at the top of the library catalog page.

Click on databases a-z

Step 2: Click on the dropdown menu that says “All Database Types,” then select reference.

Databases narrowed down to reference

How To... Search for newspapers

Step 1.

From the homepage of the library catalog, select the Newspaper Search to begin your search.

Step 2.

Sign in, choosing "NetID", and follow the prompts for your HCC credentials.

Sign-in NetID screenshot

Step 3.

Type in your search phrase to get your results; you can search for an event, person, place, subject, etc.

Step 4.

Narrow down your search results by using the “Filter your results” options on the left side of the page. You can sort by date instead of relevance, narrow down the date range, and select a subject.

Alternately:

Instead of starting from the Newspaper Search on the homepage, you can get to newspaper results from a normal catalog search you’ve already conducted. Simply click on Resource Type, then select Newspapers search.

Step 5.

Once you’ve found a title, select it and click on the full text link below “View Online”.

How To... Search for videos and audio/visual

Step 1.

Enter your keywords in the Search box, and click to search.

Step 2.

Sign in, choosing "NetID", and follow the prompts for your HCC credentials.

Step 3.

In the “Filter your results” section of the page, drop down the Resource Type menu and select Videos. You could also select Images and/or Audio. Most, if not all, results will be Available Online.

  • Depending on your device, the filter menu appears to the left of the results, or when the filter icon at the top is selected.

Step 4.

To narrow down or get different results, you may add or change keywords. Make sure before you change your search terms that you tell the search filters to “Remember all filters” so it will remember you only want videos.

Step 5.

To ensure you’re only seeing videos available online, filter your results to “Available online” under the Availability filter. You can also filter by Publication Date and Subject.