Periodicals - ENC 1101 - Cavalani (Dale Mabry) - Countries Assignment - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Search PRIMO, the HCC Libraries catalog, for articles from periodicals

To narrow down results to articles (no books, eBooks, videos or other media), one method you can use is as follows:

Enter your keywords in the Search box, and click to search.
Sign in, choosing "SSO" (single sign-on), and follow the prompts for your HCC credentials.
Select Advanced Search.
Change "Material Type" to Articles.
To narrow down results, you may add or change keywords.
You may also filter your results.
1. Depending on your device, the filter menu appears to the left of results, or when the filter icon at the top is selected.
2. Helpful filters include Publication Date, Subject, and Peer-reviewed Journals.

Need help? Ask a librarian.

Search article databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
JSTOR Back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
New York Times - Current (Gale) Articles from The New York Times dating from January 1, 1985 to today. A subset of Gale General OneFile. Use the search box labeled, Search Within Publication. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) Scholarly articles from international peer-reviewed journals, discussing art and architecture across eras, regions, and artists. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Grove Art Online (Oxford University Press) Online access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes, covering all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Funding source: FLVC group license.
Music Online: Reference (Alexander Street Press) A database of music-related reference content, including musician and composer biographies, dictionaries of music and musicians, and chronologies. Funding source: FLVC group license.
Search tips
1. Search for a keyword, composer, performer, etc. in the search box on the
  homepage. Or use the menus below the search bar to browse collections, genres, and
  content types.
2. Within each tab is a link to browse the full category list.
3. Once you’ve narrowed down your search, click on the item to open it.
A video detailing how to search the database is available at the bottom of the homepage.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) Scholarly sources relating to the humanities, such as culture, language, art, music, theatre, literature, philosophy, and more. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

History Reference Center (EBSCO) Magazine articles, e-books, primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps, historical film and video, and more, covering U.S. and World history. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
World History (Gale) Content from periodicals, reference works, and primary source documents relating to world history, organized into a portal for easy research. Funded by: FLVC Group License. Here is a tutorial.

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed articles?

Many materials you find in college-level research are articles from scholarly journals, often called "peer-reviewed," or "academic." In some instances, your professor will require you to use these types of articles, at least as some of the sources that you cite in your work. The resources below demonstrate the typical appearance, structure, and function of scholarly articles.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (interactive diagram)
Select the highlighted areas to learn about the different parts of a scholarly article, such as: title, abstract, introduction, methods, results, discussion and conclusion, works cited (references or bibliography). Sometimes it helps to read the discussion and conclusion first. Source: NCSU Libraries.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (video 04:47)
Narrated version of the interactive diagram, from NCSU Libraries.

ENC 1101 - Cavalani (Dale Mabry) - Countries Assignment: Periodicals

How this page will help you

Search PRIMO, the HCC Libraries catalog, for articles from periodicals

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Search article databases

Search tips

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed articles?