Skip to Main Content

Medical Laboratory Science: Journals & Articles

Books, journals, databases related to the program including hematology, microbiology, parasitology, pathology and urinalysis.

Peer-reviewed journals

Often expressed interchangeably as scholarly journals, these publications contain articles that are written by subject experts and then reviewed by other experts in the field before being approved for publication. Among other considerations, articles are evaluated for accuracy, currency, and quality.

Finding Case Studies

For best results, locate case studies by selecting "Case Study" as a publication type. Then add keywords pertaining to the subject matter. Use the Finding Case Studies guide as a reference when searching in Gale and EBSCO databases.

MLS journals using ICMJE Recommendations

Below is a list of journals found in HCC databases that follow ICMJE format recommendations. The links enable you to search for articles in that journal.

MLS Journals (Gale)

The following journal titles are found in Gale Academic OneFile. To search for articles in each journal click on the journal title below. You will be taken to Academic OneFile with the journal already selected for you. In the tool box on the right type your search terms in the box that says "within publication". Or for much broader results, click the logo to search all journals in Academic OneFile.

► Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

Research in anatomic and clinical pathology, emphasizing evaluation and introduction of new knowledge and new technology in the active clinical arena.
Full text July 2000 to present with 3-year embargo.

► Clinical Chemistry

Covers original research on innovative practices in today's clinical laboratory.
Full text January 1997 to present.

► Medical Laboratory Observer

Provides information on clinical laboratory services, including management and leadership skills.
Full text January 1984 to present.

MLS Journals (EBSCO)

The following journal titles are found in EBSCOhost databases. To search for articles click on of the journal titles below. You will be taken to the corresponding EBSCOhost database where the journal is found. Then click the link that says "Search within this publication". You will then will be taken to the search page where the first search box is already filled in with the journal title. Add additional terms and criteria to complete your search.

► Clinical Laboratory Science

Featuring articles on the very latest in research, education and government actions affecting the profession.
Full text January 2004 to present.

► Critical Reviews in Clinical Laboratory Sciences

Articles concerning a vast range of natural and applied sciences.
Full text from February 2004 with 18 month embargo.

► Laboratory Medicine

Scientific, technical, managerial and educational aspects of the clinical laboratory.
Full text from August 2010 with 24 month embargo.

► Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews

Latest developments in microbiology and related fields like immunology and molecular and cellular biology.
Full text available from 1997 (volume 61) with 12 month embargo.

Search HCC Libraries