Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search PRIMO, the library catalog, for sources about your story
Find books, articles, videos, & more
- Enter the title of the story in "quotation marks" as in this example: "A Rose for Emily"
- Click Search.
- If you are not already signed in, please do so.
- Sign-in will prompt for your HCC username and password.
- You can filter your results by Subject, Resource Type, Publication Date, and more.
- Depending on your device, the filter menu appears to the left of the results, or when the filter icon
at the top is selected.
- You can apply multiple filters to increasingly narrow down your results.
- The Subject filter shows the subject headings of items after other filters have been applied. You can select one or more filters to narrow your results further.
- You can un-do filters at any time.
- You can also start a new search at any time.
Here is the search for sources about "A Rose for Emily" with filters applied for resource type, peer-reviewed journals, publication date, and subject
Also search literary databases
From the Subject dropdown for Literature, try these four databases:
Bloom's Literature (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window• USE: On the homepage are featured collections, and a list of resource categories to browse. Use the author, character, or work indexes to find your subject, or use the search box at the top of the homepage.
• TIPS: On the item pages, there are categories such as reference, criticism, images, etc. that you can explore. You can also narrow results on the right side of page, to more specific entries like biography, essay topics, thematic or structural analysis, topic and theme, etc.
Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window • USE: Search for keywords, authors, titles, or subjects. Try using search operators like ‘AND’, quotation marks, and wildcards, which are explained below the Advanced Search bars in the Search Tips. Under the Search Limiters, check off “Peer-Reviewed Journals” if you need these sorts of articles.
• TIPS: On the search results page are more search filters on the left (subject, person, publication date, etc.) and resource categories at the top (criticism, biographies, primary sources & literary works, etc.). You can also try using the “Topic Finder” to visually narrow down your research subject; sources for the topic you’ve narrowed down will be displayed on the right. Once you’ve found and clicked on an article/item, you can often find Related Subjects or Keywords, bibliography/references, or the “More Like This” feature to find more sources.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window • USE: Search for keywords, authors, titles, or subjects. Try adding AND between words for results with both words, or OR between words for results with either or both words. Add quotation marks around phrases to search for the exact phrase. In the Search Options, check off “Full Text” to only find materials with the full text available.
• TIPS: You can also narrow down full text, publication range, subject, and source types (reviews, literary criticism, academic journals, etc.) on the search results page. Once you’ve found and clicked on an article/item, you can often find subjects and keywords listed that you might not have thought to use in your search. You can also use that item’s bibliography/references, if provided, to find more related sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowUse the search bar on the homepage, the Search dropdown menu, or the Browse dropdown menu at the top of the page to find sources. With the Advanced Search you can search and narrow down the kind of results you want by date, discipline, and item type.
If you want to look further
Others databases to try - focus on the "Best Bets" in each category: