LibGuides: Earth Science (Ybor City): Databases: Scholarly Articles, Reference, and Videos

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles?

Many sources you will find when conducting college-level library research are scholarly articles, often called "peer-reviewed," or "academic."

The tutorials below explain the typical appearance, structure, and function of scholarly articles.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (interactive diagram)

Scholarly Article Databases

The library has many different databases, some are multidisciplinary and some are subject specific (e.g., just covering literature or nursing). Below is a curated list of those most appropriate databases for conducting scientific research.

Some databases are entirely scholarly content while others are a mix of scholarly journals, reference, newspapers, and magazines.

Look for the "Scholarly/Peer Review" box or sections titled "Academic Journals" to limit your results to just those types of articles.

GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Focus on environmental issues. Be sure to select the Full Text limiter.
Science (Gale in Context)
To access only peer-reviewed articles, click Academic Journals --> Advanced Search --> Limit to Full Text Documents and Peer Reviewed Journals.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
Use the search bar in the upper right corner of the page to search for a keyword, title, publisher, director, etc. Or click the red filter button in the upper middle of the homepage to browse by subject, publisher, person, content type, release date, or language. Once you’ve narrowed your search, click on a video to open it in a new page. Transcript and citation help provided.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
In the upper search bar, you can search for titles, subjects, directors, etc. Or just explore the categories on the homepage. Click on the video and you can stream right in your browser. Transcript and citation help provided.

All online video databases are here.