Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AML 2020 - Freeman (Plant City): Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

This guide is intended to direct students to resources that assist with assignments in AML 2020 with Dr. Freeman at the Plant City Campus

Searching HCC Libraries for Resources

Online Library Catalog

Use the Library Catalog available on the Library's Webpage  or below this box to locate books and ebooks in the HCC Library's system. The box above is a Live keyword search box.  Type your search term at the "Enter search terms here" and choose "Click to Search".

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Example Search - Mark Twain

Example Search

Use the Library Catalog available on the Library's Webpage  to locate books and eBooks in the HCC Plant City Library. 

To locate items in the library that are by or about Mark Twain, use the Advanced Search screen, type his name in the search box of the library catalog, under "Limit your search options", choose Format > Book from the pull down menu, and then Search.

 

Catalog search term of "Mark Twain" with Format pull down menu option of Book 

From the results list, you can see that the library has books and eBooks available for your use. To open an eBook, choose "View Record" or "View Full Text" in the catalog record.  

 

Locate Printed Books in the Library

Locate Printed Books

To locate printed books in the library, choose "Books in the Library" under the Filter Results By section:

Filter Results by for Books in the Library

 

 

 

To choose a specific HCC Library campus location, make your selection from this list.  For example, choose Hillsborough/Plant City for the HCC Plant City campus library.

 

 

 

After the Results populate, look for the Call Number in the catalog record for the book you want to locate.  The Call Number is an alphanumeric code and this is how you locate a book on the book shelf in the library.  Also, make note of the HCC campus library location.  Mark Twain catalog book record showing call number

Books about Twain

Books and eBooks

Selected books and eBooks about Mark Twain, also known as Samuel Clemmons.  EBooks are available online after logging into HCC Libraries Online.

Literature Databases

Library Databases

To find magazine, journal, and book articles about Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, search in the databases found on the header tabs in this box.

Databases are used to search for and locate articles needed for the research process. Please see the Logging Into HCC Libraries for instructions on how to access the library databases through Canvas.  If this does not work, please contact one of the HCC libraries.

Each of the databases has a different "look" but they all search in similar ways. Typically, you will enter both the author's name and the title of the story to find articles that are about a particular story. If instead, you are only looking for biographical information about the author, you can use the Biography (Gale) database.

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature is a database that provides access to several different types of resources on several authors, stories, and characters. 

  • Browse Most Studied Authors 
  • Browse Most Studied Works 
  • Browse Most Studied Characters 
To search for a specific author, story title or character, you can also use Search Options > Advanced Search tool.  

Bloom's Literature Advanced Search page with "Huckleberry Finn" AND Twain as keywords

Gale Literature

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Mark Twain and Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.

At the Advanced Search screen type "adventures of huckleberry finn" in the Name of Work box and "twain" in the person-by or about box.

Make sure there is a check mark next to the More Options > "full text." This will ensure that the results are able to be read online immediately. Finally choose "Search" and a list of articles will appear.

Gale Literature search terms of "Adventures of Huckleberry Finn" and Twain  

Showing results for Literature Criticism (87)

Several types of resources will be in the results list.  Choose Literature Criticism to resort

the results.

 

Literary Reference Center Plus

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Mark Twain and his writings.  Some information will overlap with that in the Gale Literature database.

  1. Enter the title "adventures of huckleberry finn" and the author "twain" in the search boxes, leave the drop-down menus set to "select a field".
  2. Look under Limit Your Results and check mark Full-Text.
  3. Choose Search.

 

Gale Literature Criticism 

Allows you to search for essays and biographical information about Mark Twain and his writings that appear in large collections of literary criticism.

 *This database contains the full copies of several sets of literary criticism series and is quite a bit different than the other databases.

To locate articles/chapters in this database, type The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn in the Keyword search box. Check "full text" under more options and click Search.

Gale Literature Criticism advanced search page with "adventures of huckleberry finn" as the keyword

 


Choose Literature Criticism to see the articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, click on the title.