Use the Library Catalog available on the Library's Webpage or below this box to locate books and ebooks in the HCC Library's system. The box above is a Live keyword search box. Type your search term at the "Enter search terms here" and choose "Click to Search".
To locate printed books in the library, choose "Books in the Library" under the Filter Results By section:
To choose a specific HCC Library campus location, make your selection from this list. For example, choose Hillsborough/Plant City for the HCC Plant City campus library.
After the Results populate, look for the Call Number in the catalog record for the book you want to locate. The Call Number is an alphanumeric code and this is how you locate a book on the book shelf in the library. Also, make note of the HCC campus library location.
Selected books and eBooks about Zora Neale Hurston. To access eBooks, you must be logged into HCC Libraries Online.
To find magazine, journal, and book articles about "Sweat", search in the databases below.
Databases are used to search for and locate articles for the research process. Please see the Logging Into HCC Libraries for instructions on how to access the library databases through Canvas. If this does not work, please contact one of the HCC libraries.
Each of the databases has a different "look" but they all search in similar ways. Typically you will enter both the author's name and the title of the story to find articles that are about the particular story. If instead, you are only looking for biographical information about the author, you can use the Biography (Gale) database.
Bloom's Literature is a database that provides access to several different types of resources on several authors, stories, and characters.
Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Zora Neale Hurston and "Sweat".
At the Advanced Search screen type "Sweat" in the "Name of Work" box and "Hurston" in the "person-by or about" box.
Make sure there is a check mark next to the More Options > "full text." This will ensure that the results are able to be read online immediately. Finally choose "Search" and a list of articles will appear.
Choose Literature Criticism to see the articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, choose the title.
Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Zora Neale Hurston and her writings. Some information will overlap with that in the Gale Literature database.
Enter the title "sweat" and the author "hurston" in the search boxes, leave the drop-down menus set to "select a field". Click on Full-Text, and then click on Search.
Allows you to search for essays and biographical information about Zora Neale Hurston and her writings that appear in large collections of literary criticism.
*This database contains the full copies of several sets of literary criticism series and is quite a bit different than the other databases.
To locate articles/chapters in this database, type Sweat in the Keyword search box. Check "full text" under more options and click Search.
Choose Literature Criticism to seethe articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, click on the title.