Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Library Orientation: Find News, Videos, & Reference

This LibGuide offers general information about the HCC Libraries, library services, and resources available for research.

How to Search for Newspapers

Using newspapers and news can be useful in your assignment for their immediate reports of events. They're published either the same day or the same week as an event, whereas scholarly journals, books, and encyclopedias don't publish the information until months or even years later. The HCC Libraries have a Newspaper Search in the catalog separate from the normal collection search, and there are a number of newspaper databases available to browse.

How to Search for Videos & A/V

The library has plenty of video and film databases that have materials that can be used as sources. There are documentaries, tutorials, newsreels, interviews, and famous films. Even if a video or film isn't considered "scholarly" or purely educational, it can still be useful as a resource— for example, a classic film.

How to Search for Reference Entries

Reference materials are resources for your research because they are meant to provide only objective facts and background information. These are usually encyclopedias, atlases, and dictionaries. We have reference entries available online from the library catalog, and reference books that can be found in the catalog and browsed at the library. (Note that reference books cannot usually be checked out.)

News Databases

Video & A/V Databases

Reference Databases