Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC1102 - Fox - Plant City Campus

Literary Criticism Sources

Literary Criticism Sources

The following book titles used to be available in print at libraries, but now are accessed through online library databases.  These are excellent sources to use when needing to find literary criticisms or literary analysis on a specific author or story.  The story can be either novel length or short story, or play. 

Cover Art Contemporary Literary Criticism

The Contemporary Literary Criticism is a series of books that are now available through a searchable database called Gale Literature Criticism.  You can search this title through the HCC Libraries Online Catalog as well as through the database.  Whichever way is easier for you.  See the Database box for tips.

 

 

Cover ArtShort Story Criticism

The Short Story Criticism is a series of books that are now available through a searchable database called Gale Literature Criticism.  You can search this title through the HCC Libraries Online Catalog as well as through the database.  Whichever way is easier for you.  See the Database box for tips.

 

 

Cover ArtBloom's How to Write About...

The series of titles called Bloom's How to Write About... includes such authors as Hemingway, Faulkner, etc..  This book series is available in both printed and electronic format.  

 

 

 

Cover Art

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism

The Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism is a series of books that are now available through a searchable database called Gale Literature Criticism.  You can search this title through the HCC Libraries Online Catalog as well as through the database.  Whichever way is easier for you.  See the Database box for tips.

 

Screenshot of Critical Insights Flannery O'Connor book coverCritical Insights

There is a series of literature books called Critical Insights that is published by Salem Press and are available in both print and eBook format through the HCC Libraries.  The name of the database for access is called Salem Online or you can search the HCC Libraries Online Catalog for both print and eBook access.