Skip to main content

ENC 1102 - Slover (Ybor City): Home

Library guide and research kit for Ms. Judi Slover's ENC-1102 course.

Welcome!

This library guide (LibGuide) was created especially for you, a student in Prof. Judi Slover's Freshman English-2 class. It will help you complete your assignment to tie a work of literature to an issue (social topic) in our world.

Click the tabs across the top to get started.

Scroll down for information about accessing the library, and the types of sources commonly used in college-level research.

For individualized research assistance please come to the library or contact the librarians for help.

Your Hawk Card is also your Library Card

Hawk Card

With the HawkCard you can:

  • Check out books, etc. from the library
  • Use HCC's online research resources
  • Print and photocopy

Access the online resources linked from the HCC Libraries site:

  1. Your "Borrower ID" is your 7-digit student ID# (or employee ID#) on your Hawk Card.
  2. Input the last 4 digits of your ID# for the PIN. Looks like this.
  3. For example, if your ID# were 0456789, your PIN would be 6789.
  4. To change your PIN access “My Account”. Click “PIN” to change it.
  5. Having trouble logging in? Contact an HCC campus library.

New! The Library Link in Canvas. Connect to HCC Libraries Online via Canvas, no separate log-in required. Find out how.

Types of Information Sources Usually Found in a Library

These are the types of information sources that you will likely find in the library and use for college-level research:

Type Information Use Examples

Magazines...

are collections of articles and images about diverse topics of popular interest and current events. Usually these articles are written by journalists or scholars and are geared toward the average adult. Magazines may cover very "serious" material, but to find consistent scholarly information, you should use journals.

» to find information or opinions about popular culture

» to find up-to-date information about current events

» to find general articles for people who are not necessarily specialists about the topic

» National Geographic

» Ebony

» Sports Illustrated

» People

Journals...

are collections of articles usually written by scholars in an academic or professional field. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be accepted. Articles in journals can cover very specific topics or narrow fields of research.

» when doing scholarly research to find out what has been studied on your topic

» to find bibliographies that point to other relevant research

» Journal of Communication

» Current History: A Journal of Contemporary World Affairs

» Journal of Professional Nursing

» Journal of Humanistic Psychology

Newspapers...

are collections of articles about current events usually published daily. Since there is at least one in every city, newspapers are great sources for local information.

» to find current information about international, national and local events

» to find editorials, commentaries, expert or popular opinions

» New York Times

» Tampa Tribune

»  USA Today

Trade Publications...

are written by and for professionals within an industry. They provide very specific information about that field's trends and topics.

» for an insider's perspective on current issues within an industry or field.

» The National Culinary Review

» OfficePro Magazine

Library databases...

contain full text (entire article online) and/or citations or abstracts (brief summaries) ... of articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. Many databases also include multi-media materials, such as podcasts, blogs, videos, images, audio clips, etc.

» to find articles on your topic in magazines, journals or newspapers

» Academic Search Complete (a general database)

» CINAHL Plus Full Text (a nursing database)

» ABI/Inform Complete (a business database)

Library catalogs...

are organized and searchable collections of records of every item located in the physical library - books will come up, but also online eBooks, many articles from databases, streaming videos, audio clips, etc. The HCC library catalog can be found on the HCC Libraries home page. The catalog will point you to the location of a particular source, or group of sources, that the library owns on your topic.

» to find out what items the library owns on your topic

» to find where a specific item is located in the library

» HCC's library catalog is called LINCCWeb.

Books...

cover virtually any topic, fact or fiction. For research purposes, you will probably be looking for books that synthesize all the information on one topic to support a particular argument or thesis.

Libraries organize and store their book collections on shelves called "stacks."

 Many books in a college library catalog are available online as eBooks.

» when looking for lots of information on a topic

» to put your topic in context with other important issues

» to find historical information to find summaries of research to support an argument

» Carr, Nicholas. The Shallows: What the Internet is Doing to Our Brains, 2010.

» Cox, Rebecca D. The College Fear Factor: How Students and Professors Misunderstand One Another, 2009 (eBook).

Encyclopedias...

are collections of concise, factual entries, often written by different contributors who are knowledgeable about the topic. 

There are two types of encyclopedias: general and subject. General encyclopedias provide concise overviews on a wide variety of topics. Subject encyclopedias contain in-depth entries focusing on one field of study.

» when looking for background information on a topic

» when trying to find key ideas, important dates or concepts

» Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience (subject encyclopedia)

» The World Book Encyclopedia (general encyclopedia)

» Gale encyclopedia of genetic disorders (subject encyclopedia found online as an eBook)

The Web...

allows you to access most types of information on the Internet through a browser. One of the main features of the Web is the ability to quickly link to other related information. The Web contains information beyond plain text, including sounds, images, and video.

The important thing to do when using information on the Internet is to know how to evaluate it!

» to find current information

» to find information about companies

» to find information from all levels of government - federal to local

» to find both expert and popular opinions

» to find information about hobbies and personal interests

»  lcweb.loc.gov (The Library of Congress)

»  wikipedia.org (a wiki - here is a definition of a wiki)

» hccfl.edu (Hillsborough Community College)

Adapted with permission from University Libraries at Virginia Tech.