Skip to main content

Selected Databases: Home

One librarian's picks and tips.
Hello! I created this brief guide for a faculty in-service session, to highlight some of my favorite HCC Libraries databases.

Librarian, Dale Mabry Campus

Alicia Ellison's picture
Alicia Ellison
Contact:
aellison@hccfl.edu
813-253-7380

The Really Big Database: HCC Libraries Catalog

Find Books, Articles, Media, & more:

Searching Smaller Library Databases

Besides the big Library Catalog Search, you can search smaller, individual databases of articles, media, and other materials.

All HCC Libraries databases can be accessed—and sorted by subject, type, or alphabetically—via the following link:

My selected list is on the second page of this guide, and also linked here:

About Library Databases & Their Contents

  • The library has many different databases. Some are multidisciplinary in scope, while others cover a specific subject area or discipline, e.g. literature, nursing.
  • Some databases largely consist of scholarly content, e.g. peer-reviewed, while others contain a mix of scholarly journals, newspapers,  magazines, and encyclopedias.
  • When searching a database, look for the "Scholarly/Peer Review" box if you wish to limit your results to just those types of articles.
  • To learn more about scholarly or peer-reviewed articles, explore the links below:

Looking for a Specific Journal?

Find journals in HCC Libraries databases.

Should I use Google or Library Resources?

Short Answer: Both!  This brief (00:01:39) video from Ronald Williams Library explains: