Skip to main content

SPC 1608 - Foster (Dale Mabry): Home & HCC ID Info

Welcome

Welcome to this library research guide for Prof. Foster's SPC 1608 class. It is designed to introduce you to the Library and to help you find sources. You may only need to use this page. To go further, open the other tabs. Good luck!

Start Here: Search the Library Catalog

Find Books, Articles, Media, & more:

The Library Catalog is a big, broad database of everything that the library owns. Its algorithm takes your search terms and returns results ranked by relevance. These results may include one or more of the following:

  • Records of books in the library with location and availability
  • Links to online eBooks
  • Links to online articles from periodicals, including newspapers, magazines and peer-reviewed journals.
  • Links to academic eVideos

To get started:

  1. Think of how you would describe your topic to a friend, pick out a few key terms, and enter them in the Search box.
  2. After you you get your results, you can refine them.
  3. As you continue searching and finding, read over what you have and make notes of other key words and search terms to try.

Your search terms—key words or phrases—and how you combine them, are the first step in searching for the results you want. Examples:

As you read the content in books, eBooks and articles, or watch eVideos, keep a list of important concepts and new search terms to try.

Where to Find Books on the Dale Mabry Library Shelves

Reference Sources by Subject

Reference materials (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, etc.) are great sources to begin or continue your research. They can help you to:

  • Select a topic.
  • Obtain an overview and background of a topic.
  • Identify key terms to use for further searching.

Reference materials may be found as physical books on the library shelves, or online in eBooks and databases.

If your term or word is unique to a field or subject (e.g. medical terms, technical terms) see if we have a subject dictionary or encyclopedia in the collection (e.g. medical and dictionary or medical and encyclopedia).

Then, under "Refine My Results" click on "Book" or "eBook" as in this image:

Your Librarian

Alicia B. Ellison
Contact:
Dale Mabry Campus
DLRC Bldg, 2nd Floor
813-253-7380
Subjects:Reference

Get help online: chat and email

DM Library Location & Hours

HCC Dale Mabry Campus Library
DLRC Building, 2nd & 3rd Floors
4001 Tampa Bay Blvd
Tampa, FL 33630 

Main phone: 813-253-7381
Reference Desk: 813-253-7470
AV-Audiovisual Office: 813-253-7383

Hours
Mon-Thurs - 8am-8pm
Fri - 8am-2pm
Sat - 8am-2pm
Closed on Sundays and holidays.

Summer Hours
Mon-Thurs - 8am-8pm
Closed Fri-Sun and holidays.