LibGuides: English for Academic Purposes: English as a Second Language: Home

English for Academic Purposes at HCC

ENGLISH FOR ACADEMIC PURPOSES AT HCC

The EAP, or English for Academic Purposes Program, offers six levels of instruction designed to help English language learners reach a level of proficiency that will prepare them for better employment or for academic opportunities.

SEE Applying to EAP (at HCC) AND HCC EAP Frequently asked questions

More questions? Contact Genevieve Kurian

EAP Student Manager

Genevieve Kurian

gkurian@hccfl.edu

813.259.6368

DHUM 117 (Connections Center)

Department chair:

April Muchmore-Vokoun

amuchmorevokoun@hccfl.edu

813.253.7360
DSSC-219

Ybor City Campus EAP

Primary EAP Contact:
Susan C. Brown
sbrown52@hccfl.edu
813.253.7588
YADM 106
813-253-7642 (EAP Reception Desk)

South Shore Campus EAP Email: SSEnrollment@hccfl.edu

Academic Success Centers - EAP Resources

Writing, Grammar, and EAP Resources
HCC Academic Success Centers. Writing. Your hub for resources on grammar, mechanics, style guides, essays

Other Local Resources for New Learners of English

Hillsborough County Schools ESOL, English for Speakers of Other Languages

Hillsborough Literacy Council, Learn English

Websites for New Learners of English

100+ Resources for ESL/ELL Students, Teachers & Parents
From STEPS, Student Training and Education in Public Service
Activities for ESL Students
This site has quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles.
Business English Grammar Lessons. Exercises
Scroll down for free English language resources
Center for Independent Language Learning. Exercises
Exercises on grammar,
Dave’s ESL Café
Exercises for grammar, idioms, phrasal verbs, pronunciation and more.
EFpodEnglish
Listening lessons for beginners and intermediate students
English Club. Learn English
Everything from grammar lessons to ESL games and chat.
English Page
Vocabulary, grammar, verb tenses, gerunds, articles, prepositions, a listening lounge and more!
EngVid
Learn English for free with 1082 video lessons by experienced native-speaker teachers. Classes cover English grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, IELTS, TOEFL, and more. Join millions of ESL students worldwide who are improving their English every day with engVid.
ESL Writing Online Workshop
Focus on writing for ESL college students from theh Excelsior Online Writing Lab
Eve Easton. Authentic American Pronunciation
Pronunciation for the alphabet, days of the week, months, numbers, the names of the states, and more
Five Minute English
Grammar, reading, vocabulary, listening, pronunciation, slang/idioms
Free ESOL and ESL Teaching and Learning Resources
From Educational Technology and Mobile Learning. This useful list was updated in 2022.
Grammarbook.com
An online site with free study material that goes along with The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
Grammarism
Grammar Quizzes
Practice points of English grammar.
ListenAndReadAlong
Videos with transcripts to follow as speakers read aloud.
Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Online
Over 150,000 words wiith sound files for pronunciation
ManyThings.org
Interesting things for ESL students
Marquette University. Tips for ESL Writers
This site concentrates on academic writing skills rather than speaking. Includes grammar issues.
Purdue OWL. ESL Instructors and Students
Includes parts of speech, practice, exercises, information about workplace writing, etc.
Randall’s ESL Cyber Listening Lab
General listening quizzes along with links to information on grammar, etc.
USA Learns
Learn beginning and intermediate English free. Watch video lessons and do 1000s of activities. Practice English speaking, listening, vocabulary, pronunciation, reading, spelling, writing and grammar.
Using English
UsingEnglish.com provides a large and growing collection of English as a Second Language (ESL) tools & resources for students, teachers, learners and academics, covering the full spectrum of ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP subject areas.

Librarian

Ilene Frank

Contact Me

Test your English

Need a quick, free test of your reading and listening English language abilities? Try the EF Set English Test at https://www.efset.org/research/

Podcasts

Betteratenglish.com Better@English has real English conversations podcast (est. 2006 and last updated 2017) gives you fun, authentic English conversations for listening practice. Read along as you listen -- go to http://www.betteratenglish.com/transcripts for free transcripts and vocabulary lessons. Archive of podcasts at https://www.betteratenglish.com/be-episode-archives and on iTunes

World Englishes

Purdue Online Writing Lab. World Englishes
IDEA. International Dialects of English Archive
Listen to dialectrs and accents around the United States