Skip to main content

Earth Science (Dale Mabry): Get Started

Welcome

This library research guide is designed to help you find sources for your paper.

Start With Background Information

These Earth Science reference sources can be found both online as eBooks and in the library as print books.

Reference materials (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, etc.) are great sources to begin or continue your research. They can help you to:

  • Select a topic.
  • Obtain an overview and background of a topic.
  • Identify key terms to use for further searching.

Reference materials may be found as physical books on the library shelves, or online in eBooks and databases.

Search the Dale Mabry Library Catalog

Find Books, Articles, Media, & more:

The Library Catalog is a big, broad database of everything that the library owns. Its algorithm takes your search terms and returns results ranked by relevance. These results may include one or more of the following:

  • Records of books in the library with location and availability
  • Links to online eBooks
  • Links to online articles from periodicals, including newspapers, magazines and peer-reviewed journals.
  • Links to academic eVideos

To get started:

  1. Think of how you would describe your topic to a friend, pick out a few key terms, and enter them in the Search box.
  2. After you you get your results, you can refine them.
  3. As you continue searching and finding, read over what you have and make notes of other key words and search terms to try.

Also Try...

These smaller, more specific databases are focused just on science:

Google Scholar can also help you find articles in HCC databases. Hover over the link for more info.

Scholarly sources are written by experts or scholars in a field or discipline. Academic journals are largely composed of articles that have been subjected to review by experts or scholars who are peers in the field of scholarship. The peer review process is used to evaluate an article for quality and accuracy prior to publication. This process can result in acceptance, revision, or rejection. Although all information should be critically scrutinized for bias, credibility, use of evidence, and accuracy, scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles are understood to be held to a higher standard of scholarship.

Many, if not most, of the articles you will use in your research will be found online in library databases. Here is what a typical scholarly article found in a library database looks like:

Your Librarian

Alicia B. Ellison
Contact:
Dale Mabry Campus
DLRC Bldg, 2nd Floor
813-253-7380
Subjects:Reference

Get help online: chat and email

Find the Dale Mabry Library

HCC Dale Mabry Campus Library
DLRC Building, 2nd & 3rd Floors
4001 Tampa Bay Blvd
Tampa, FL 33630 

Main phone: 813-253-7381
Reference Desk: 813-253-7470
AV-Audiovisual Office: 813-253-7383

Hours
Mon-Thurs - 8am-8pm
Fri - 8am-2pm
Sat - 8am-2pm
Closed on Sundays and holidays.

Summer Hours
Mon-Thurs - 8am-8pm
Closed Fri-Sun and holidays.