Suggest a Link
Business & Economics
- Annual Reports Online (IRIN)
Investor Relations Information Network's site for accessing annual reports and other corporate information. - Associations on the Net
- Best of the Best Business Websites
Association of College & Research Libraries list of the best business sites. Organized by category. - Big Charts
Find Stock charts, market index performances, historical quotes and more. - BizStats.com
Includes financial ratios, business statistics, benchmarks and analysis of businesses & industries. Business Ethics
Sharon Stoerger's (MLS, MBA) page contains Articles & Publications, Case Studies, Corporate Codes of Ethics, Professional Organizations & Associations, Resources & Centers and Additional Ethics Resources. - Business Journal Tampa Bay
Formerly Tampa Bay Business Journal - Business Plans and Profiles Index
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh's Subject Guide to Sample Business Plans and Profiles for Specific Business Types. Census Bureau: Business and Industry
Includes data from: Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Statistics of U.S. Businesses and more. - Economic Statistics (UN)
- EDGAR Online (SEC filings)
Recent SEC filings from public companies. Requires registration. - Finance resources on the Web
Numerous links to financial and economic websites: including information of financial markets, investment research, government resources and professional journals. Iowa State University. - globalEDGE
Directory of links to international business resources. - Global Macroeconomic and Financial Policy Site
Nouriel Roubini's site contains news, features, readings, and links for macroeconomic and financial policy topics. - Hoover's Premium (HCC ID)
Bussiness & Industry research database. - How to Learn About an Industry or a Specific Company
Polson Enterprises' step-by-step process for uncovering information about industries and businesses. - Industry Trade Data and Analysis
Industry-Specific Trade Data, Industry Trends, and Trade Data for Manufacturing and Services industries from the International Trade Administration of the US Dept. of Commerce. - Investopedia.com
An educational guide to investing and personal finance. Includes an investing dictionary, tutorials and articles. - Kiplinger.com
Business, Managing, Investing news and information from the online version of the print magazine. - Money: Past Present and Future
Information on Monetary History, Contemporary Developments, and Electronic Money. - National Bureau of Economic Research
NBER is "a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works." Includes news, publications, data and more. - North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
NAICS has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. - Reference for Business
Offers free access to business reference sources including Encyclopedia of Small Business, Encyclopedia of Business, Business Biographies, Business Plans, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encylcopedia of Management, Company Histories, and Leading American Businesses. - Securities and Exchange Commission
The U.S. department home page for investor information, filings, forms, regulations, news and more. - Smll Business Administration
Website for the U.S. government agency with information and services to aid small businesses. - Standard & Poors Index Services
Up-to-date, global coverage of S&P indicies. - Standard Industrial Classification Manual (SIC Codes)
Search for industry classification codes. - Super Searchers Directory
Includes link directories for general business, global business, investment, mergers & aquisitions, and entrepreneurial information. Caution: some links are fee/access restricted. - Survey of Current Business
Monthly journal from the Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Dept. of Commerce), available in PDF format for the years 1994 to present. Features estimates, analyses, and research on the National economy. - U.S. Department of Labor
- Virtual International Business & Economic Sources
VIBES provides full-text, statistics, and links to international business. See also, Internet Sources for U.S. Corporate, Industrial, and Economic Information - Wall Street Research Net
Investment and Market information. - Yahoo! Industry Center
Yahoo!'s directory of industry information.
Criminology
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
U.S. Department of Justice site for criminal justice statistics. - Criminal Justice Links
FSU's comprehensive page for information on the many aspects of Criminal Justice. Also provides access to information through the Criminal Justice System Processing Flowchart. - Homeland Security Digital Library site (HSDL)
HCC's Institutional Access to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) includes: - National Criminal Justice Reference Service
"NCJRS is a federally sponsored information clearinghouse for people around the country and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control." - Prison Journal
International journal on incarceration issues including: criminal justice administration, criminal justice/law, health/mental health, history, political science, psychology, public administration, public policy, and sociology.
Education
- Academic Info
Educational gateway to online college and research level Internet resources. Awesome Library for Teachers
Awesome Library organizes the Web with 33,000 carefully reviewed resources, including the top 5 percent in education. - BioEd Online
Online educational resource for educators, students, and parents. Access reliable, cutting-edge information and educational tools for biology and related subjects. See also: The Body Explained video dowloads. - Caldecott Medal Award
American Library Association's page for the Caldecott. - Campus Guide to Copyright Compliance
Designed for academic institutions, this guide helps answer questions ranging from basic copyright law to the more complex topics of ILL and e-reserves. - College and University Rankings
Provides links to lists that rank colleges & universities in various categories. - Community College Studies
Community College resources and information from UCLA. - Copyright in the Classroom powerpoint
Copyright presentation from the Learning Resources standing committee of the Council on Instructional Affairs (FL). - Crash Course in Copyright
University of Texas - Creative Commons
A non-profit that offers an alternative to full copyright for Audio, Video, Images, Text, Education, and Software. Offering work under a Creative Commons license does not mean giving up copyright. "Share, reuse, and remix — legally." - Florida Dept of Education
- Digest of Education Statistics
Online access to the Digest tables back to 1995. Statistical information covers the field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. - DocuSeek
Search for independent documentary videos on educational and social issues available in the U.S. and Canada. Includes descriptions, reviews and awards. Searchable by subject, title, country, grade level, and more. - Dr. Mac’s Amazing Behavior Management Advice Site
Veritable encyclopedia of how to manage a classroom, with bulletin board to post, and receive answers from experienced teachers. Solid resource for understanding and managing complex behavior challenges. - Education World
Lesson Planning, Technology Integration, School Issues,Professional Development and more. - Educator's Reference Desk
Provides resources for a variety of education topics as well as lesson plans by subject. - Faculty Development
Links to online resources for faculty/professional development. - Florida Center for Instructional Technology
FCIT provides many resources for Florida teachers, including training materials for telecommunications, interactive instruction on technology, and maintenance of online database resources. - Florida Information Resource Network (FIRN)
FIRN's primary mission is to provide electronic pathways and procedures enabling user access to computing services for Florida's public educational community. - Gateway to Education Materials
sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, GEM provides educators access to educational resources such as activities, lesson plans, online projects, and assessment items found on various federal, state, university, non-profit and commercial Internet sites. - Grants & Funding Sources
HCC Libraries list of sites on the web for educational grants and funding. - Information Literacy
HCC Libraries list of links to various Information Literacy topics - Kathy Schrock’s Guide for Educators
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators is a categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning. - Knowledge Loom
Searchable database of web site links and "best practice" information for various subjects, levels, types of schools. Founded and maintained by the Education Alliance at Brown University. - National Center for Education Statistics
- National Education Association
The NEA's website includes publications & multimedia, education-related legislative information, educational "hot topics", and more. - Orange Grove
An a online library of free instructional resources for Florida's educators. - Peterson's.com
Provides college & university search, financial aid info, test prep info, and more. - Study Abroad Directory
Seachable directory of study abroad programs around the world. - Study Guides and Strategies
University of St. Thomas' site offers information to help students be more effective in and out of the classroom. Available in 14 languages. - Teacher's Toolkit
Free resources include annotated descriptions of web sites by subject area, and noted for grade level. Includes WebQuests, Technology Education, and more. - Theory Into Practice (TIP)
TIP is a tool intended to make learning and instructional theory more accessible to educators. The database contains brief summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction. - U.S. Department of Education
Government site providing information on grants and contracts, financial aid for students, education resources, research and statistics, and policy. - WebQuests
Includes training materials for developing webquests and a portal to numerous examples categorized by general subject and grade level. Hosted by the Educational Technology Department at San Diego State University. See also Midge Frazel's Understanding and using WebQuests. - WWW for Teachers
Ressources for teachers covering topics such as Integrating Technology, Professional Development and Tools for integrating technology into the classroom.
Library Science
- American Library Association
- Ask a Librarian: Florida's Online Information Service
- BLINCC 006
LINCC/Librarian Blog space for sharing of ideas. - Campus Guide to Copyright Compliance
Designed for academic institutions, this guide helps answer questions ranging from basic copyright law to the more complex topics of ILL and e-reserves. - Card Catalogs of National/International Libraries
- College Center For Library Automation (CCLA)
- Copyright in the Classroom powerpoint
Copyright presentation from the Learning Resources standing committee of the Council on Instructional Affairs (FL). - Core Collections
H.G. Wilson's lists and resources for Collection Development - Crash Course in Copyright
University of Texas - Creative Commons
A non-profit that offers an alternative to full copyright for Audio, Video, Images, Text, Education, and Software. Offering work under a Creative Commons license does not mean giving up copyright. "Share, reuse, and remix — legally." - CUFTS
A reference source to help students, researchers, and librarians locate journal titles & full-text content available in Online Article Databases. - Florida Library Association (FLA)
- Hillsborough County Public Library Cooperative
- Information Literacy
HCC Libraries LibGuide on Information Literacy. - Information Literacy Forum
The National Forum on Information Literacy was created in 1990 as a response to the recommendations of the American Library Association's Presidential Committee on Information Literacy. - Invisible Web Directory
This directory searches valuable information inaccessible through typical search engines, and is largely comprised of content-rich databases from universities, libraries, associations, businesses, and government agencies around the world. - ISI Highly Cited
From the Institute for Scientific Information, this database is a gateway to the most highly influential scientists and scholars worldwide in 21 subject categories who have demonstrated great influence in their field as measured by citations to their work. Includes Biographical information as well as bibliographic. - Legislative Resources for Florida Librarians
- Librarian's Datebook
Links to upcoming conferences and events. - Library Law
Mary Minow's site devoted to legal issues affecting libraries. - Library Statistics Program
NCES site for nation-wide library statistics. - LIBWEB--Library WWW Servers
- State Library of Florida
- Photographic Libraries
A directory of third party photograph, stock, archive, moving images, and other media collections.
See also: Finding Images on the Web - Publishers' Catalogues Home Page
- Stephen Bell's Keeping Up Page
Current topics for library professionals.
Political Science
- Almanac of Policy Issues
Provides comprehensive links and background information on major U.S. public policy issues. Major categories include: Criminal Justice, Culture and Society, Economic Issues, Education, Environment, Government Operations, Health, Social Welfare, Foreign Affairs & National Security. - American Presidents
In-depth information reviewed by prominent scholars on each president and administration. - Avalon Project--Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
This site from Yale Law School collects historical documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from pre-18th century to the present. - Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union
An A-Z encyclopedia of topics concerning the EU. Also Includes EU chronology, evolution, info on the European Parliament and more. Maintanied by British Economists connected with the Julian Hodge bank. - Elections around the world
Tracks worldwide elections on a country basis. Also includes information on parliaments, parties - Govenment Information
HCC Libraries selected links to government information in the categories: Executive, Legislative, Judicial, Departments and Agencies, International, State, Florida, & Local. - Internet Resources for Political Science
Links to websites on politics, governments, international affairs, public policy, professional organizations and publications encompassing the field of political science. - Politico
The Politico's mission is to cover "the politics of Capitol Hill and of the presidential campaign, and the business of Washington lobbying and advocacy." The Politico is a publication of Capitol News Company, LLC. - Politics Links
Directory of links from Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG), part of the UK Resource Discovery Network - Presidential Timeline of the 20th Century
Interactive timeline designed and developed by the Learning Technology Center in The University of Texas at Austin College of Education. - Project Vote Smart
"Dedicated to upholding the ideal of democracy and serving the American people with unbiased and accurate information," the website serves as a voter's self-defense system. "Described by the New York Times as 'one of the most comprehensive campaign information sites on the web.'" - Public Agenda Online
This is a non-profit, non-partisan public opinion research and citizen education organization dedicated to informing and educating about critial policy issues and the public's opinion of these issues. - Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources
A political science megasite offering links to websites dedicated to area studies, elections, constitutions, political parties, manifestos, political theory, political thought, and international relations. - US Political Party Links
Links to major and minor political parties and affiliated organizations. Also includes other political link directories.
Pro & Con
- News and Current Events Databases
Try these databases: Opposing Viewpoints, Issues and Controversies, CQ Researcher, & LexisNexis Academic. A valid HCC ID is required. - Debatabase
Read “Search the Debatabase” and follow the prompts for one of three ways to explore this directory of debatable topics. Each topic summary includes background information and pros and cons. - Public Agenda Online
Click on a topic. Within each topic summary, click Discussion Guides for several “perspectives in brief,” which are contrasting viewpoints. Each perspective is summarized, followed by a link to more detail – including “what should be done,” and arguments for and against each proposed solution. - Social Issues
The Social Issue Web page is part of the Multnomah County Library (Oregon) "Homework Center". Although its stated audience is middle school students, the site is appropriate for any researcher. Each issue contains links to "megasites," followed by sites with pro and con arguments.
Psychology
- American Psychological Association
This website for the APA offers pyschology information for students, the public, and professionals in the field. - Citation Style Guides
A list of style guides on the web for documenting both print and electronic sources. - Encyclopedia of Psychology
Searchable/browsable encyclopedia of psychology topics, theories, publications and more. Jacksonville State University. - The Future of Children
The mission of the journal is to translate research into better policy and practice for children. - Internet Mental Health
This site offers information regarding the understanding, diagnosis and treatment of mental illness. - Medline Plus: Mental Health & Behavior
Mental Health links, reference, research, multimedia and more from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institites of Health. - National Center for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder
This site includes information and research devoted to Posttraumatic Stress Disorder. - Personality Project
This Northwestern University site is devoted to personality psychology research and information. - Psychology Virtual Library
Psychology resources from the World Wide Web Virtual Library. - Social Psychology Network
This Wesleyan University's site offers links to thousands of social-psychology and general psychology resources.
Sociology
- Adult Literacy Estimates
Portland State University's searchable database for geographical literacy data. - American Sociological Association
The official site for the national association for sociologists. - Capital Punishment Statistics
U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics including tables and graphs describing characteristics of capital punishment. See also U.S. Dept. of Justice Bureau of Justice Bulletin for Capital Punishment 2001 (PDF). - DocuSeek
Search for independent documentary videos on educational and social issues available in the U.S. and Canada. Includes descriptions, reviews and awards. Searchable by subject, title, country, grade level, and more. - Formatting in Sociology
Bibliographical format from the American Sociological Review by Purdue's Online Writing Lab. - The Future of Children
The mission of the journal is to translate research into better policy and practice for children. - Gallup Organization
Polling data in a variety of categories. See also Pew Research Center for the People and the Press. - Institute for Research on Poverty
U.S. Office of Economic Opportunity institute based at University of Wisconsin-Madison. Offers web links, publication information, news, and research. - Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Athabasca University's electronic, searchable (both terms and definition text) version of a 900+ item dictionary authored by Gary Parkinson, Ph.D. and Robert Drislane, Ph.D. - Project Implicit
A virtual laboratory at which visitors can examine their own hidden biases. Project Implicit is the product of research by three scientists whose work produced a new approach to understanding of attitudes, biases, and stereotypes. - Social Science Data on the Internet
A searchable/browsable database directory linking to hundreds sites with statistical data. - Social Science Information Gateway
Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG) is a directory of Internet resources for "students, academics, researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and law. It is part of the UK Resource Discovery Network." - Societal Aspects of Weather
Information and statistics covering the societal impact of weather. - SocioSite
University of Amsterdam's social science information system offers a comprehensive listing of sociology sites on the web. - SocioWeb
A directory of sociological sites and resources on the internet. Links to journals and magazines, topical research, statistics, associations and more. - Subject Websites: Pro & Con
- WWW Virtual Library: Sociology
Another extensive web directory of internet resources related to sociology.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait