Skip to Main Content

SPC 1608 / SYG 2000 - Gesmundo: Databases

 

How to log-in to article databases

There are multiple ways to log-in to HCC Libraries online resources depending on how you are linked to them:

Library Sign In with Net ID Email

  • 1. Your username: first initial of first name, last name, and any number assigned by the system. i.e. John Smith = jsmith27 plus @hawkmail.hccfl.edu
  • 2. Your default password: first initial of first name CAPITALIZED, first initial of last name (lowercase) followed by your 7-digit student number, e.g., Jsmith1234567
  • 3. Library sign in with Net ID

Library access through Canvas

  • 1. In a Canvas course, click "HCC Libraries Online" from the leftnav or left navigation menu.
  • 2. Click the "Launch HCC " button
  • 3. You are logged into the Library Catalog Search (Note: use the tabs (Library Home, Databases, etc.) to access other library resources. (Click to see screenshots)
  • 4. Library access though Canvas

OpenAthens or Find your Institution login

  • 1. Skip the OpenAthens login and instead search "Hillsborough" in the "Find your Institution" search box.
  • 2. Use your NetID login as described above.
  • 3. Find your Institution Login

Ways to access the HCC Libraries website:

Relevant databases

Click the links for databases in each category and pay attention to the the best bets for your research. Click the links to be taken directly to the database. ​

You may also want to check out our A-Z Databases list. You can filter the list by by database subject and type. 

Some helpful areas might be: 

  • Reference 
  • News 
  • Social Sciences