Skip to main content

Modern American History - Lawson - Plant City: Streaming Videos

Streaming Videos

Streaming Video Databases

The streaming video databases that HCC subscribes to provides quick access to different types of video broadcasts to include:

  • Newsreels from Universal Pictures, HBO, BBC, A&E Television and more
  • Documentaries
  • Lectures/Presentations
  • Performances

The databases listed below are just a sample of what is available through HCC Libraries Online.  For the full listing of databases that allow video access, please see the Database Finder web page, change the Database Type pull down menu to Videos.

Examples

Below are links to examples of the type of videos that are available through this database.  You must be logged into HCC Libraries Online to access.

American History in Video Streaming Database

The following video suggestions are hosted on a streaming video database called American History in Video which is produced by Alexander Street Press.  You can browse Historical Events such as September 11th, Charles Lindbergh, Jr. Kidnapping, Cointelpro, Watergate Scandal, Iran-Contra (Presidential Scandal), Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill, Columbia and Challenger Space shuttle disasters, plus many more.

Encyclopedia Britannica Academic

The reference database known as Encyclopedia Britannica also has a media section that hosts images and videos.  To view and search this section, open Media Browse listed to the right of the search box.

Choose one of the subject areas, such as Society, Social Structure and Change, Social Movement.  To only have videos in the results section, click on Videos at Media Type. 

Films on Demand

Browse for Scandals

Type in the word Scandal as a search term and use the facets in the right column to narrow results to Political Science, American Government and Political Participants under Subject.