Databases: Articles and Videos - Education - Incl. Pre-K (Ybor City) - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles?

Many sources you will find when conducting college-level library research are scholarly articles, often called "peer-reviewed," or "academic."

The tutorials below explain the typical appearance, structure, and function of scholarly articles.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (interactive diagram)

Databases for Researching Controversial Topics in Education

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary sources, website links, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on a vast range of social issues and current topics. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

When you log into any of the databases below, find the main subject area for "Education" and browse the topics. You can also use the "Search" feature.

Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing)
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (Sage)
Reports on timely issues, from social to environment, health, education, and science. Produced by experienced journalists. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Scholarly Article Databases

The library has many different databases, some are multidisciplinary and some are subject specific (e.g., just covering literature or nursing). Below is a curated list of those most appropriate databases for conducting educational research.

Some databases are entirely scholarly in content while others are a mix of scholarly journals, reference, newspapers, and magazines.

Look for the "Scholarly/Peer Review" box or sections titled "Academic Journals" to limit your results to just those types of articles.

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale)
Full-text articles from periodicals and reports for educators, administrators, and education students. Funding source: State Library of Florida.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Full text is not available for all articles in ERIC. Either limit your search to Full Text or look for the Find Text? link to check for availability in another database.
Springer EJournal Collection
Multidisciplinary database with access to education journals. Under Browse by Discipline select Education & Language.
Search tips
1. On the homepage, under Browse by Discipline, click a subject to browse articles, books, reference works, and more, in that subject.
2. Or, use the search bar at the top of the page to search for a title, keyword, subject, or author.
3. On the left side of the screen, you can narrow down your search by the content type or sub-discipline.
4. Above those search filters is a box you can un-check to exclude materials not available to HCC.
5. To view the item, click on the title; you can also download PDFs to view offline.
More tips
On the results page, each title has its content type identified (book, article, etc.)above the title. Sometimes articles are parts of collections, and you can find related materials in the collection on the right side of the page after opening the title. When you open a book, you can navigate the chapters menu to read them online or download individually, or download the entire book.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
Use the search bar in the upper right corner of the page to search for a keyword, title, publisher, director, etc. Or click the red filter button in the upper middle of the homepage to browse by subject, publisher, person, content type, release date, or language. Once you’ve narrowed your search, click on a video to open it in a new page. Transcript and citation help provided.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
In the upper search bar, you can search for titles, subjects, directors, etc. Or just explore the categories on the homepage. Click on the video and you can stream right in your browser. Transcript and citation help provided.

All online video databases are here.

Education - Incl. Pre-K (Ybor City): Databases: Articles and Videos

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles?

Databases for Researching Controversial Topics in Education

Scholarly Article Databases

Search tips

More tips

Video Databases