LibGuides: Sociology (Ybor City): Scholarly Articles & More

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles?

Many sources you will find when conducting college-level library research are scholarly articles, often called "peer-reviewed," or "academic."

The tutorials below explain the typical appearance, structure, and function of scholarly articles.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (interactive diagram)

Scholarly Article Databases

The library has many different databases, some are multidisciplinary and some are subject specific (e.g., just covering literature or nursing). Below is a curated list of those most appropriate databases for conducting sociological research.

Some databases are entirely scholarly content while others are a mix of scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines.

Look for the "Scholarly/Peer Review" box to limit your results to just those types of articles.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary database with several scholarly history journals. Limit your search to Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
JSTOR
Entirely scholarly database. Specializes in archival material (articles older than 5 years, some going back as far as 100 years or more.) In Advanced Search under "Narrow by Discipline and/or Publication Title" select Sociology.
Sage Journals
Scholarly Journal database. In "Advanced Search" under "Search Within" choose "Select from a list of disciplines" under "Social Sciences and Humanities" select Sociology.
Search tips
From the homepage, try or more of the following methods
:
1. Use the search bar for a title, keyword, author, or subject.
2. Or, use the link, Browse Journals by Discipline, narrowing down the discipline and subject for a list of journals.
3. Or, click Explore Discipline Hubs
  to find a specific discipline and all materials that fall under it.
Discipline pages include Search Within Discipline Journals; sub-topic journals;open access journals; books, videos, and podcasts; and more.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
Use the search bar in the upper right corner of the page to search for a keyword, title, publisher, director, etc. Or click the red filter button in the upper middle of the homepage to browse by subject, publisher, person, content type, release date, or language. Once you’ve narrowed your search, click on a video to open it in a new page. Transcript and citation help provided.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
In the upper search bar, you can search for titles, subjects, directors, etc. Or just explore the categories on the homepage. Click on the video and you can stream right in your browser. Transcript and citation help provided.

All online video databases are here.

Sociology (Ybor City): Scholarly Articles & More

What are scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles?

Scholarly Article Databases

Search tips

From the homepage, try or more of the following methods

Video Databases