Skip to main content

ENC 1102 - Freeman (Plant City): William Shakespeare

Course LibGuide for students in Dr. Freeman's ENC 1102 course

Books about Shakespeare

Selected books and ebooks about William Shakespeare.  EBOOKS are available online with a HCC Student ID. Please see Logging Into HCC Libraries Online for more information. 

Shakespeare's Biography

Literature Criticism Online

This database presents articles that include biographical information about authors. Type Shakespeare, William and choose it from the pull down menu.  Change Basic Search to Person-By or About.  Check mark Full Text and click search.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Biography in Context

From the home page of this database, click on Advanced Search.  In the Header, click on Person Search.  Type in William Shakespeare at the Name box and click Search.

Video Versions

The library has several versions of Othello available on DVD and VHS.

It is also available completely online through our FMG Database.

Gale Literary Sources

Search Tips about an Author

The database called Gale Literary Sources can be used in several different ways.  To find information about a particular author, use either the Person Search tool or type the author's name in the Person-By or About box.  Make sure Full  Text is checked and click Search for your results.  Use the tools on the right side of the results page to narrow results.  Under By Product/Series, scroll through the list and choose LitFinder.  These results will provide historical and biographical information on Shakespeare.

 

 

Bloom's Literature on Shakespeare

Shakespeare's Corner in Bloom's Literature

You will need to be signed into either Canvas/MyHCC or log into HCC Libraries Online to access the databases below.  Please see Logging into HCC Libraries Online for more information.

Bloom's Literature is a new database subscription that HCC now has access to.  When needing to find articles on a specific author, try using this approach in Bloom's.  On the home page, click on Browse and then Authors under Topic Center.  Under Narrow Results to the right, type in Shakespeare and choose his name from the pull down menu and then click Find Author.  When his listing populates, click on his name in order to see all of the articles written about him in Bloom's Literature.  After the results populate, follow these steps to find articles written about Othello.  

  1. Open the Selected Works tab
  2. Click on Play or Plays to the Right
  3. Go to Page 2 to find Othello
  4. Open Go to Work

Another way to access information in the databases on Shakespeare is through an entire section on this database is geared for Shakespeare's writings which includes video productions, full text of some of his works, criticisms and analysis, discussion questions.  Click on Bloom's Literature below, scroll down the page until you see Shakespeare Center in the right column.  Click on Go To Shakespeare Center.  Scroll down the page until you find Othello.