Skip to main content

AML 2600 African-American Literature - Freeman (Plant City): The Story of an Hour

Books about Chopin

Selected books and ebooks about Kate Chopin.  EBOOKS are available online with a valid library card number and pin

Library Databases

To find magazine, journal, and book articles about The Story of an Hour by Kate Chopin, use any or all of these databases. Additional search tips for each database are found in the boxes below.

Literature Resources from Gale

Literary Reference Center

Literature Criticism Online

Databases are used to search for and locate articles for the research process. They are not available freely online, thus you will be prompted to log in with your borrower ID and pin. Students/employees can access the online library resources with your 7-digit student ID# (or employee ID#). The PIN is the last 4 digits of your student ID# or SSN (unless you've changed it). *If this does not work, please contact one of the HCC libraries or complete this form.

Literature Resources from Gale

Literature Resources from Gale will allow you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Kate Chopin and "The Story of an Hour."

 At the first screen enter "story of an hour" in the "Name of Work" box and "chopin" in the "person-by or about" box. Click on the check box that will limit "to documents with full text." This will ensure that the results are able to be read online immediately. Finally click on "Search" and a list of articles will appear.


Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)

Literary Reference Center will also allow you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Kate Chopin and her writings.  Some information will overlap with that in the Literature Resources from Gale.

Enter the title "Story of an Hour" and the author "Chopin" in the search boxes, leave the drop-down menus set to "select a field". Click on Full-Text, and then click on Search.

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Literature Criticism Online will allow you to search for essays and biographical information about Kate Chopin that appear in large collections of literary criticism.

 *This database contains the full copies of several sets of literary criticism series and is quite a bit different than the other databases.

To locate articles/chapters in this database, you will click on  Browse Works, type Story of an hourin the title box on the upper left, and then click on Story of an Hour in the results list:


From the results page, select one of the chapters. It will be very long. Rather than viewing it page by page, click on "Stories Discussed" to see the list of stories that are analyzed in this chapter. Scroll to "Story of an Hour" and click on the pages linked there. The database will skip to those pages.

Books and Ebooks

Locating books and ebooks in the HCC Plant City Library is done using the Library Catalog available on the Library's Webpage.

The Library Catalog also will find articles, videos, and many other types of resources that might be useful for completing your research.

*The search feature will return MANY results, some of which are useful and readily available, while others are more challenging to locate... It is sometimes easier to use the catalog to find Books and Ebooks, while using the databases (as seen the the column to the left) to find magazine and journal articles.



Example Search:


To locate items in the library that are by or about Kate Chopin, simply type her name in the search box of the library catalog, click and select "library items" from the drop-down menu, and click search.

From this results list, you can see that the library has books, ebooks, videos, and evideos available for your use. Click on "View Online" to look at the e-materials or write down the call number to locate an item that is physically in the library.