Skip to main content

AML 2600 African-American Literature - Freeman (Plant City): A Jury of Her Peers

Books about Glaspell

Selected books and eBooks about Susan Glaspell.  To access eBooks, you must be logged into HCC Libraries Online.   

Library Databases

To find magazine, journal, and book articles about A Jury of Her Peers, search in the databases below.


Databases are used to search for and locate articles for the research process. They are not available freely online, thus you will be prompted to log in with your borrower ID and pin.
Students/employees can access the online library resources with your 7-digit student ID# (or employee ID#). The PIN is the last 4 digits of your student ID# or SSN (unless you've changed it). *If this does not work, please contact one of the HCC libraries.

Each of the databases has a different "look" but they all search in similar ways. Typcially you will enter both the author's name and the title of the story to find articles that are about the particular story. If instead, you are only looking for biographical information about the author, you can use the Biography In Context database.

Literature Resources from Gale

Literature Resources from Gale will allow you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Flannery O'Connor and "A Jury of Her Peers".

At the Advanced Search screen enter "jury of her peers" in the "Name of Work" box and "glaspell" in the "person-by or about" box.

Click on the check box that will limit "to documents with full text." This will ensure that the results are able to be read online immediately. Finally click on "Search" and a list of articles will appear.

The list of results will have a tab like the one below. Click on the Literature Cricticism tab to see the articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, click on the title or the link(s) labeled "Full-text". 

Books and Ebooks

Use the Library Catalog available on the Library's Webpage  to locate books and ebooks in the HCC Plant City Library. 

The Library Databases allow you to find articles, videos, and many other types of resources that might be useful for completing your research.  From the library home page or catalog page, click on Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.  You must be logged into HCC Libraries Online in order to access the library databases.

 Example Search:

 

To locate items in the library that are by or about Kate Chopin, simply type her name in the search box of the library catalog, click and select "items in library" from the drop-down menu, and click search.

From this results list, you can see that the library has books, ebooks, videos, and evideos available for your use. Click on "View Online" to look at the e-materials or write down the call number to locate an item that is physically in the library.

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Literature Criticism Online will allow you to search for essays and biographical information about Susan Glaspell and her writings that appear in large collections of literary criticism.

 *This database contains the full copies of several sets of literary criticism series and is quite a bit different than the other databases.

To locate articles/chapters in this database, you will click on  Browse Works, type jury of her in the title box on the upper left, and then click on A Jury of Her Peers in the results list:


From the results page, select one of the chapters. The chapter will likely be very long. Rather than viewing it page by page, click on Stories Discussed to see the list of stories that are analyzed in this chapter. Scroll to A Jury of Her Peers and click on the pages linked there. The database will skip to those pages.

Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)

Literary Reference Center will also allow you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Susan Glaspell and her writings.  Some information will overlap with that in the Literature Resources from Gale.

Enter the title "jury of her peers" and the author "glaspell" in the search boxes, leave the drop-down menus set to "select a field". Click on Full-Text, and then click on Search.